Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Country Conditions Reports
This Nobel Peace Prize-winning organization investigates and exposes human rights abuses throughout the world. See the “Research” page for links to current research “reports” which are searchable by legal issue and by country. You will also find their annual “State of the World” report which profiles individual countries. Use the “Edit—Find” tool in your browser to search for your country of interest as the pdfs are usually over 300 pages in length. Each report offers examples of human rights abuses/cases organized by legal issue.
Center for Gender & Refugee Studies at UC Hastings
Offers Case Summaries based on Nationality/type of persecution. Also provides some research reports upon request (via online fillable form). Must register for access (free) and affirm that you don't work for the federal government, except for public defenders who may use the system. See the full terms here for more information: https://cgrs.uchastings.edu/terms-of-use
Columbia International Affairs Online
Database provided through main campus Falvey Library. Offers country-by-country reports on politics and economics as well as news reports, case studies, links to journals and working papers from a variety of think tanks and institutions.
Council on Foreign Relations
Search by topic or region. Mostly focused on US National Security interests in particular nations/regions but does detail the situation/issues faced by these nations.
Executive Office for Immigration Review - Country Research Listings
Search by country-links to government reports and some non-governmental reports and also organizes reports by topic (gangs, gender, religion etc.)
Issues reports on freedom of the press, political freedom, government performance, women's rights and other issues related to democracy in specific countries/regions. Click on the Reports tab to browse by topic or on Region tab to review all available reports for a specific nation.
Gulf Coast JFCF Country Guides
Not comprehensive but does provide historical timeline and snapshot of current human rights abuses in various countries. Browse by country name.
Human Rights Reports—U.S. Department of State
Select year and then select country/region. Can “build a report” comparing issues across countries as well.
Human Rights Watch
Nonprofit organization which profiles human rights abuses in works to defend and protect human rights on a global scale. Their website offers reports which are searchable both by county and by legal issue. Note: the countries are organized by Region rather than alphabetically. Also review the “World Reports” which offer chapters on each country: https://www.hrw.org/previous-world-reports
International Justice Resource Center
Provides links to Human Rights Condition resources including: the UN Human Rights Council’s Universal Periodic Review reports, Annual Country Reports from the US Department of State, Human Rights Watch & Amnesty International, Additional Country reports from the African Commission on Human Rights, the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights and the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, Thematic Reports (reproductive health, education, working conditions etc.) from the Inter-American Commission, UN Treaty body documents, the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights and the US State Department report on International Religious Freedom and Trafficking in Persons report and miscellaneous reports from Refword, Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch and the International Committee of the Red Cross
Physicians for Human Rights
Organization that conducts research into the ways in which medical/scientific evidence and testimony from health professionals can be used to stop human rights violations or assist those seeking asylum. Research reports and articles are searchable by issue or by country.
Website of the UN Refugee organization. View links to country profiles and reports along with links to cases, treaties and other governing law and materials. Reports come from a variety of publishers/organizations including the US Department of State. Browse by country or topic or search by keyword.
Shadow Reports (from Out Right International)
Reports of human rights violations from the perspective of the LGBT community. Browse by region
Temple Law Asylum Project
Site is a collaboration between the Sheller Center for Social Justice at Temple University Beasley School of Law and the Washington Office on Latin America. It is "focused on demonstrating that government actors in the Northern Triangle are unable and unwilling to protect individuals fearing persecution at the hands of non-state actors" and provides country conditions information for El Salvador, Guatemala. and Honduras. You must complete a short form on the link above to request a password to access this free site.
Focus on the lives and conditions faced by children. Search by subject, region, or type of report. Search by keyword to look for a specific country.
Universal Human Rights Index—United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
Search by country and select “Universal Periodic Review.” Look for the link at the top to the report and related documents (usually labeled in this format: A/HRC/11/21 (UPR 2009)) See their research guide for more explanation: http://uhri.ohchr.org/search/guide
Women's Refugee Commission
Offers reports organized by topic but within each topic there are reports from specific nations/regions.
CIA World Factbook
Brief country profile. Select nation from the country drop down box to view a summary of its economic, social and political structures as well as some of the challenges/issues unique to that nation.
United States Commission on International Religious Freedom
Independent bipartisan government commission that tracks and reports on the status of religious freedom around the globe. Search by Country, Issue or type of report. Not all nations are represented.
The Villanova Law Institute to Address Commercial Sexual Exploitation (CSE)
Gathers and reports research on sexual exploitation in Pennsylvania and beyond. Issues policy papers and other related information as well.
World Health Organization (WHO) Country Health Reports
Browse by nation name. Data includes life expectancy, infant mortality rates, leading causes of death, access to health services and other related information.
CHILD SOLDIERS WORLD INDEX
Reports on incidents of children used in warfare, minimum military recruitment ages by country and reports on the status of OPAC (Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child on the involvement
of children in armed conflict) in each country.
Preparing Country Condition Reports in Asylum Cases
Latin America & the Caribbean
Center for Latin American Studies, UC Berkeley
Working and policy papers on a variety of topics ranging from education and climate change to labor and economics.
Congressman Sam Farr’s Latin America on the Rise Congressional Briefing Series
Features summaries and video from briefings involving hot topics affecting Latin America including country and regional conditions, migration issues, and the impact on the US and other members of the international community. Many briefings are moderated by a Latin American Specialist from the Congressional Research Service.
dLOC (Digital Library of the Caribbean)
Database of electronic collections covering cultural, historical, legal, governmental, and research materials from and about Caribbean countries provided by collaboration of international institutions including the University of Florida. Search by format, topic, or collection.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Annotated bibliography reviewing books, journals, conference papers etc from the fields of Anthropology, Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Economy, and Sociology as they relate to Latin America countries/regions. Searchable online and updated weekly. Use the publication information to locate the sources described using your library catalog or other resources. NOTE: many titles are in Spanish but the bibliography provides a description in English.
Nonprofit started by two journalists in 2010. Investigates and reports on organized crime in Latin America and the Caribbean. View reports by country or by topic.
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) Country Reports
Subcommittee of the Organization of American States. Reports are issued on a different country each year.
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
Hosted by the Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin, LANIC provides access to many resources searchable by country/region or by topic. Coverage includes reports and information on economics, society & culture (including crime and a list of non-profits operating in that country), media reports, archives and research resources and many other topics.
Political Database of the Americas
Database compiled by the Center for Latin American Studies at Georgetown University. Provides links and descriptions of individual country's government, political parties, local governance and civil society organizations operating within that county. Many documents have been translated into English.