Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The law library has a limited user subscription to AILALink, an online research platform created and maintained by the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA). AILALink includes immigration statutes and regulations, case law, agency decisions and guidance documents, government manuals and AILA-produced reports and materials. It also provides access to AILA's secondary sources including Kurzban's Immigration Law Source Book and the AILA's Asylum Primer among many others. For more information, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org
The main statute governing U.S. immigration law is the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, as amended (INA). The current text of the INA is codified in Title 8 of the U.S. Code, Aliens and Nationality. In addition, some other titles of the U.S. Code contain provisions relating to immigration, including Title 20, Employee Benefits, Title 22, Foreign Relations, and Title 29, Labor.
INA and USC Citation Conversion Chart This link opens in a new window
Immigration practitioners rarely refer to sections of the Immigration and Nationality Act by its USC citation and instead refer to the section numbers for the Act which appeared in the Statutes at Large/act before it was codified in the United States Code. Use this conversion chart to locate the corresponding section for whatever citation you may have.
Print & Online Sources for Statutory Immigration Law
Immigration Dockets & Court Documents
Immigration Briefs This link opens in a new window
Selected briefs filed with the U.S. Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals that relate to the rights and disabilities of foreign persons in the United States. Selected coverage beginning in 2003. Some older briefs also included.
Immigration Briefs, Pleadings, & Motions This link opens in a new window
Lexis description: "Contains all available briefs, pleadings, and motions pertaining to immigration." No date ranges or court coverage information is provided.
Immigration Dockets This link opens in a new window
Docket information for active and inactive Immigration cases filed in US District Courts, US Courts of Appeal, U.S. Bankruptcy Courts nationwide and selected State Courts. Coverage begins in 1990 with full coverage from 2000 on. Updated daily.
Immigration Law Dockets This link opens in a new window
Lexis description: "Contains all available Federal and state dockets pertaining to immigration." No date range or specific court listing is given.
Immigration - Naturalization Application Dockets This link opens in a new window
Click on Federal Court Dockets and select your courts of interest then scroll down to the "U.S. District & Appellate Options" at the bottom of the page, then on "Nature of Suit." Click "Browse Full List" and select Immigration. Run search using keywords or other search fields
Immigration Trial Court Documents This link opens in a new window
Contains motions, memoranda, pleadings, and other civil trial filings relevant to Immigration litigation practice filed in state and federal courts. Coverage begins in the 1990s.
Immigration Law Jury Instructions, Verdicts, & Settlements
Several titles of the Code of Federal Regulations have provisions relating to immigration, including Title 8, Aliens and Nationality, Title 22, Foreign Relations, and Title 20, Employee Benefits
Bender's Immigration Regulations Service This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF4819 .G68 1992
Print copy updated through March 2012. See Lexis+ for current edition.
Immigration Law Service, 2d This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF4815 .I47 2004
See Volume 5 for Regulations. Print updated through 2012--see Westlaw for current edition.
Immigration Regulations This link opens in a new window
Regulations found in CFR Titles 6 (Domestic Security) 8 (Aliens & Nationality), 20 (Employees' Benefits), 22 (Foreign Relations), 28 (Justice Dept & Judicial Administration) & 42 (Public Health)
Regulations.gov (Pending & Proposed Regs) This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: Updated daily
Takes you to search page for pre-populated search for "Immigration." Narrow by agency, document type or open/closed comment period using filters on left.
Most judicial cases involving immigration are decided in federal court. Therefore, the decisions will be in various federal reporters (such as Federal Reporter, Federal Supplement, Supreme Court Reporter, and so on). These reporters are available in print in the library and online on Lexis and Westlaw, as well as other on online databases and on some court websites. Finally, both Lexis+ (IMMIG; COURTS) (or search by individual reporter name) and Westlaw (or browse by selecting Statutes or the Immigration Practice Area link) offer databases compiling federal cases involving immigration.
Asylum Case Law Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
Digest summaries of federal court decisions on asylum petitions. Lists the country of origin and summarizes the holding. Updated annually.
Immigration Cases This link opens in a new window
Covers all levels of federal courts dealing with immigration issues. Coverage begins in 1789.
Immigration Law Cases This link opens in a new window
From Lexis: All available cases from any Federal or state court pertaining to immigration. No coverage years are given.
Immigration Forms & Sample Pleadings
Bender's Immigration Law: Forms & Filings This link opens in a new window
Walks through preparation of various Visa and occupation worker applications. Provides sample documents and guidance--view Table of Contents only with law school Lexis plan (effective Jan 2020)
Bender's Immigration Litigation Forms This link opens in a new window
Sample forms with links to case law and secondary materials for additional information. Covers motions, subpoenas, affidavits, interrogatories and other litigation documents. Updated annually
Immigration Official Forms This link opens in a new window
Official forms from agencies regulating immigration such as Dept of State, EOIR, USCIS, IRS, ICE and Social Security Administration
Immigration Official Forms This link opens in a new window
Official forms from the Dept. of State, EOIR, USCIS, Dept. of Labor, and others.
Immigration Pleading & Practice This link opens in a new window
Offers sample pleadings and legal memoranda to be used before immigration judges, BIA, and federal district and appeals courts. Authored by Thomas Hutchins of the Immigrant and Refugee Appellate Center, LLC.