Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The law library has a limited user subscription to AILALink, an online research platform created and maintained by the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA). AILALink includes immigration statutes and regulations, case law, agency decisions and guidance documents, government manuals and AILA-produced reports and materials. It also provides access to AILA's secondary sources including Kurzban's Immigration Law Source Book and the AILA's Asylum Primer among many others. For more information, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org
Materials Issued by Federal Agencies
All Immigration Law Administrative Materials
Clearinghouse with links to many different types of agency guidance documents and decisions including BALCA decisions, Office of Chief Admin. Hearing Officer Immigration Review Decisions, DHS USCIS Naturalization Guides, DHS ICE Policies and Procedures, DHS USCIS E Verify Questions and Answers, DHS USCIS Handbooks Manuals and Guides and BIA precedent and nonprecedent decisions.
Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals Deskbook:
The BALCA Deskbook serves as reference source for labor certification law, explaining various points of law and providing back-up case citations. Available in print and online from the Department of Labor, Westlaw or Lexis Advance.
Foreign Affairs Manual (FAM) & Handbooks:
Department of State publication that includes the organization structures, policies, and procedures that govern the operations of the State Department, the Foreign Service and, when applicable, other federal agencies. The Manual generally covers policies while the handbooks focus on procedures.
Source: Max Pixel CC0 Public Domain License
Asylum Credibility and Corroborating Evidence in the Federal Courts of Appeals
Published in 2006. Third Circuit coverage begins on page 52 of the pdf. Must Shepardize/KeyCite cases to ensure they are still good law. NOTE: this publication was previously posted to the Department of Justice's website but has since been removed. The link above takes you to the archive copy hosted by the Wayback Machine/Internet Archive.
Asylum Statistics by Nationality
Statistics gathered from the Immigration Courts regarding number of asylum petitions received, granted, denied, abandoned and withdrawn for each nationality listed. Covers 2012-2016.
EIOR Fact Sheets
Offers an agency guide as well as overviews of many agency programs and procedures
Immigration Statistics from the Department of Homeland Security
Includes reports on refugees and asylees as well as annual statistics for nationalizations and permanent residents. See the "Yearbook of Immigration Statistics" link for a list of prior yearbooks (1996 - 2018)
Office of Refugee Resettlement-Federal Guidance & Authority
Part of the Administration for Children & Families (a division of the Dept. of Health & Human Welfare). Offers links to regulations and legislation governing this office. See the "Policy" tab for policy guides.
Statistics Year Book
Available for years 2000 - 2018 with some quarterly reports for 2019. Covers cases received and completed, pending caseloads and open cases.
Federal Agency Materials Available in Print