Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Handbook: Introduction

Welcome!

Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law is a Catholic and Augustinian institution that seeks to reflect the spirit of St. Augustine by the cultivation of knowledge, by respect for individual differences and by adherence to the principle that mutual love and respect should animate every aspect of the Law School’s life.

The Law School welcomes all to its community, regardless of race, color, age, sex, religion or creed, national/ethnic origin, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender (including identity and expression), or disability. The School of Law is committed to serving the poor and the disadvantaged. As an inclusive institution, it celebrates diversity as enriching the educational environment for everyone.

The policies stated in this Handbook are intended as guidelines only and are subject to change at the sole discretion of the University. This Handbook should not be construed as and does not constitute a contract guaranteeing continued student status.

Note on gender-inclusive language: Portions of this Handbook utilize they/them/their as singular pronouns.

Academic Calendar

Fall 2021 Semester

Wed.-Fri., Aug. 18-20

Mandatory Sign-In & Orientation

Mon., Aug. 23

Classes Begin

Mon., Sept. 6

Labor Day (no classes)

Fri., Oct. 8

Student Break (no classes)

Mon., Oct 11

Student Break (no classes)

Tue., Nov. 23

Friday Schedule; Thanksgiving recess begins after last class

Mon., Nov. 29

Classes Resume; All classes end after last class

Thu., Dec. 2

Examination Period Begins

Thu., Dec. 16

Examination Period Ends

Spring 2022 Semester

Mon.–Fri., Jan. 3-7

1L / 2L Mandatory Module Week

Mon., Jan. 10

Classes Begin

Mon., Jan. 17

Martin Luther King Day (no classes)

Fri., Feb 25

Semester recess begins after last class 

Mon., March 7

Classes Resume

Fri., April 15

Good Friday (no classes)

Tues., April 19

Friday Schedule; Classes end after last scheduled class

Fri., April 22

Examination Period Begins

Thu., May 5

Examination Period Ends

Thu., May 12

Honors Convocation

Sat., May 15

Commencement

Emergency and Frequently Called Numbers

Emergency Numbers

610-519-4444

Campus EMERGENCY

610-519-6979

Public Safety Department

610-519-4070

Health Services

 

Frequently Called Numbers

610-519-4160

Bookstore (University Shop)

610-519-4258

Bursar (University)

610-519-4086

Campus Ministry

610-519-4050

Counseling Center

610-519-7043

Graduate Tax Program

610-519-6979

Public Safety Escort Service

610-519-7136

School of Law Academic Success

610-519-7010

School of Law Admissions

610-519-7054

School of Law Alumni Relations

610-519-7005

School of Law Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

610-519-6836

School of Law Associate Dean for Faculty Research

610-519-7030

School of Law Career Strategy & Advancement

610-519-7007

School of Law Dean

610-519-7054

School of Law Development

610-519-7744

School of Law Emergency Closing

610-519-3893

School of Law Experiential Learning

610-519-7015

School of Law Financial Aid Office

610-519-7020

School of Law Library

610-519-7000

School of Law Reception Desk

610-519-7017

School of Law Registrar

610-519-3005

School of Law Security Officer

610-519-5228

School of Law Student Affairs

610-519-7006

School of Law Vice Dean

610-519-4034

Veterans’ Adviser

 

When dialing from an on-campus phone, dial 9+last four digits only.