Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Handbook: Student Services

Villanova Law Student Services Staff

Academic Success Programs

The Office of Academic Success Programs is designed to help students achieve academic success in law school. The Office of Academic Success Programs provides services to students through study skills seminars, structured study groups led by upper class students, instructional materials, one-on-one meetings, Bar preparation, and an informational web page. See Academic Rule 15 regarding the Academic Success Program.

Campus Ministry

Campus Ministry engages in every aspect of University life and addresses the spiritual needs of students, faculty, staff, and alumni, including the Law School. Retreats, sacraments, worship, prayer, spiritual direction and opportunities for service and advocacy are all offered throughout the year. If you are interested in learning more or finding out how you can get involved in Campus Ministry, contact Fr. Aldo Potencio, OSA (aldo.potencio@villanova.edu , 610-519-6261).

Sunday Masses are typically celebrated at 7:30 and 10:30 a.m., as well as 5:00, 7:00, and 9:00 p.m. in the St. Thomas of Villanova Church.  There is a Saturday evening vigil Mass celebrated in Corr Chapel in Spanish at 5:30 PM.  Daily Mass is celebrated at 12:05 p.m. every day that the University is open and 5:30 p.m. when classes are in session in Corr Chapel. Students, faculty, and staff serve as Liturgical Ministers and Pastoral Musicians. Mass is also celebrated in the Law School Chapel at 12:30 p.m. every Wednesday when classes are in session. For updated information on liturgy times, please visit the Campus Ministry Website campusministry.villanova.edu. To learn more about Catholic worship or to get involved, contact Mat Verghese (mathew.verghese@villanova.edu).

The Sacrament of Reconciliation is available in the St. Thomas of Villanova Church on Tuesdays and Wednesdays 3:30-4:30 p.m., and Thursdays 8-9 p.m. We will also have the Sacrament of Reconciliation in the Law School Chapel on Tuesdays 12:30-1:30 p.m. or by appointment: please contact Fr. Aldo Potencio, OSA (aldo.potencio@villanova.edu).

Campus Ministry seeks to support students of all faith traditions through on-campus programming and partnerships with our neighbors.  During the academic year, students of diverse Christian backgrounds have opportunities to pray, study and serve with groups like Intervarsity, Young Life, Orthodox Christian Fellowship, and more. Jewish students gather with friends in Hillel for Shabbat dinners and holiday celebrations. Muslim Jummah Prayers are held Fridays at 1:30 p.m. in the Prayer Room in John Barry Hall and are open to the community. There are also many churches, synagogues, masjids, and other houses of worship in the Villanova area, with which Campus Ministry can help you to connect. Contact Rev. Julie Sheetz, Campus Minister for Ecumenical and Interfaith Outreach, to explore interfaith opportunities and for further information (julia.sheetz@villanova.edu, 610-519-4085)

The Room for Interfaith Prayer and Meditation is located in Room L04 on the Lower Level of the Law School. This quiet space is available for individual or small group prayer. Please feel free to use as needed. For regular use or to ensure specific times, the room may be reserved through Marlene Musonge (marlene.musonge@law.villanova.edu, 610-519-5576) in the Student Services Suite.

Career Strategy and Advancement

The Office of Career Strategy and Advancement provides information on full-time and part-time law related jobs and career counseling to Villanova Law students and graduates. Students who wish to participate in programs sponsored by the Office are required to comply with all policies and requirements issued by that Office. Policies are posted on the Career Strategy Blackboard site and are available in the Office. Failure to comply with these policies and requirements may result in revocation of all on-campus interviewing privileges and access to other Career Strategy services and programs.

Work-study jobs require special application forms which are available through the Financial Aid Office.

Part-time employment during the school term should be undertaken with great care since the study of law requires a full-time commitment. This is particularly important for first-year students, who are strongly discouraged from working during their first year, even in a part-time capacity.

During the second and third year, absent special circumstances, Villanova law students are discouraged from engaging in employment for more than 20 hours per week in any week in which the student is enrolled for more than twelve credits.

Employment does not constitute an excusable absence from class attendance.

Résumé and Grade Report Accuracy: Students must make certain that all information, particularly grade information, contained in all job application materials is accurate. With respect to grades, grade point average must not be rounded up, and must be reported as it appears on the transcript. Intentionally supplying incorrect information would be an unethical practice. Unintentional inaccuracies reflect poorly upon the individual student as well as all Villanova students and the Law School. Even rare and isolated instances harm the entire community. Appropriate disciplinary action will be taken should inaccurate information be discovered on a student’s résumé and other job application materials.

Counseling and the Counseling Center

Counseling

The Director of Student Affairs is a trained counselor who is available for law students who are experiencing personal problems. The University Counseling Center (located in the Health Services Building) provides short term confidential counseling for all Villanova students.

Counseling Center

The University Counseling Center provides services that help students function optimally with regard to emotional, academic, social and psychological issues. The staff is experienced in supporting students through the normal developmental challenges of their current life stage. For students who encounter a more difficult condition such as depression, anxiety, panic, or disordered eating, the staff is also experienced in diagnosis, crisis intervention, and treatment. For students who need longer term or more intensive treatment, the Counseling Center helps find appropriate referrals off campus.  Services are available to all students currently taking classes toward a degree, including all law students. All services are free of charge to current students.

To make an appointment, students should call the Center at , 610-519-4050.  All contacts with the Counseling Center are confidential, except in situations where laws or ethics require notification of a third party.

The Counseling Center provides individual personal counseling, referrals, consultations, and educational programs, see the Counseling Center’s website.

Health Center

The Student Health Center is located on the third floor of the Health Services Building. Visits to the Student Health Center are covered under the Health and Wellness fee (each semester) incurred by full-time Undergraduate and Law Students. Students are financially responsible for the costs of any laboratory tests, some over-the-counter medications, and all prescription medications. The Student Health Center does not bill insurance companies, nor does the Student Health Center operate as a pharmacy. Students who incur charges at the Student Health Center may request reimbursement from their insurance company.

The Student Health Center is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week during the academic school year. Exceptions include holidays and scheduled breaks. Summer hours are generally 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays and 8 a.m. – noon  on Fridays.

Please call the Student Health Center at 610-519-4070 with any questions regarding hours of operation, services available, or to schedule an appointment.

The Student Health Center provides a variety of services including immunizations, allergy shots, women’s health services, and referrals to off-campus specialists.

Student Affairs

The Office of Student Affairs provides a broad range of support services to law students, including on-site counseling and referrals to campus resources. The Student Affairs Office provides leadership and support to the Student Bar Association and other student organizations, and collaborates with a variety of University offices to provide a wide range of programs to help Villanova Law students develop personally and professionally. The office is dedicated to law student wellbeing and assisting students in personal and emotional challenges they may encounter that affect their law school experience. Nancy Whalen , Director of Student Affairs, can be reached at whalen@law.villanova.edu and her office is located in the Student Service Suite, Room 178.