Resources for Litigators: Juries

2000 to present

Can be hit or miss, best to determine the major firms that specialize in that area of law and concentrate on their sites and keep in mind that only favorable verdicts will likely be reported there. FREE

Click “search database” under “Verdicts and Decisions” on left side of main screen. Limited coverage but worth a shot before turning to a paid resource.

Go to All Content --> Secondary Sources --> By Type--> Jury Instructions.

Can also select state or practice area first and then look for jury instructions link.

Varies by jurisdiction--may be pattern/model, suggested or instructions issued/officially sanctioned by the jurisdiction.

Use the Advanced search link to search by citation or title. Many individual databases offer a full table of contents.

Browse --> Sources --> By Category --> Jury Instructions

Filter by either jury instruction filings (actual court filings) or pattern jury instructions. Can also filter by jurisdiction, practice area or publisher.

Select "Non-jurisdictional" filter to view instructions specific to certain specialized practice areas.

Filter by practice area or keyword.

Browse Table of Contents for instructions grouped by topic, search by keyword or use the index link at the bottom to browse alphabetically

Link is to table of contents--can search by keyword also.

Browse Table of Contents, search by keyword or use the index.

Browse --> Sources --> By Category --> Jury Verdicts & Settlements
Filter by jurisdiction and/or publisher. Contains state and federal but federal verdicts are included under the state in which that federal court is located. Some verdicts are taken from reporters which may also include case decisions. Select "non-jurisdictional" to view specialized verdict reporters for products liability, class actions etc.

There are 18 databases for PA verdicts & settlements

All Content --> Jury Verdicts & Settlements
Filter by jurisdiction (federal Circuit or state) or by practie area. Filters vary by database.

Search Tips: Click on Advanced search button after selecting your database. Use Document fields to limit search by Topic (premises liability, negligence, motor vehicle etc.), Injury (fracture, contusion, death, "severed artery" etc), Docket Number, Expert Witness, County, Attorney, or Judge

Note: not all verdict reporters "code" their verdicts so some may not be retrievable by "Topic" or "Injury," you should search for these as keywords in the search box if your search using either of those pre-set fields doesn’t give you many results.

Can also select state jurisdiction or practice area from those tabs and then look for the jury verdict links.

Pennsylvania coverage begins with 1947 and includes state and federal verdicts, settlement and arbitrations.

Many offer free database of verdicts to bar members. Link is to the ABA Directory of State & Local Bar Associations.

Browse --> Sources --> By Category --> Legal News --> Filter by Publisher to "Mealey's" Filter by jurisdiction or practice area.

Not available via Villanova Law Library subscriptions--requires separate paid subscription. Specialized publications focusing on such things as benzene exposure, mold, medical device products liability and other similar areas. Available in print or online. Not on Lexis or Westlaw.

Links to jury verdict reporters for each state and lists states covered by regional jury
verdict reporters. Offers links to publisher websites—online access requires a paid subscription. Check Westlaw/Lexis as some publishers have also licensed them content.

Verdict reporting service available both in print and online. Almost nationwide
coverage. Verdict reports contains links for attorneys, experts and judges that give you lists of other verdicts in which they are mentioned. Reports are often very detailed. Also available on Westlaw though most lack the expert/attorney/judge linking found on the verdictsearch.com site itself. PAID SUBSCRIPTION but can get a 24-hour Free preview.

On Reserve: KF8984 .A65 3rd 2011. Older editions on 3rd Floor.

On Reserve: KF8984 .A66 3rd 2009

Committee on Pattern Jury Instructions, District Judges Association, Fifth Circuit
Call Number: Reserve: KF8984.A65 5TH 2009 Older editions available on 3rd Floor.

On Reserve: KF8984 .A65 7th. Older edition on 3rd Floor

On Reserve: KF8984.A65 8TH 2011. Older editions on 3rd Floor

On Reserve: KF8984.A66 8TH 2011. Older editions on 3rd Floor

On Reserve: KF8984.A65 9TH 2007

On Reserve: KF8984.A66 9TH 2010. Older edition on 3rd Floor