LibGuides: Resources for Litigators: Experts

Lexis Expert Directories and Reports

Litigation Profile Suite
Log into Lexis Advance then click on the "Lexis Advance Research" drop down button in the upper left corner of the screen. Select Litigation Profile Suite. Select "Expert" from the drop down menu to the left of the search box and enter the attorney name. Search filter on the right allows you to limit search to a particular jurisdiction or you can run search and then filter your results by state, city or employer.
ALM Expert Witness Directory
Can only search by keyword
Expert4Law (LA County Bar Association Expert Witness Directory)
JurisPro Expert Witness Directory
Daubert Tracker-Case Reports
Cases where individual experts were challenged. Can filter search by court, practice area, law firm, judge or keyword.
Courtroom Insight Expert Witness Directory and Ratings
Testimony from experts in a number of different cases along with ratings provided by attorneys. Search by keyword or expert name.
SEAK National Directory of Experts
Offers contact information and area of expertise. Search by expert name or keyword.
Expert Witness Resumes and Curricula Vitae
Search by name, company or keyword. Filter results by practice area
LexisNexis Expert Witness Summaries
Lexis editors have created summary of cases where expert has appeared (compiled from documents available in the Lexis system). Filter by jurisdiction, practice area, attorney, law firm, keyword or judge.
Expert Witness Challenges
Summary of cases were testimony was admitted or excluded. Search by keyword, expert name, court or judge.
Expert Witness Testimony and Reports
Links to expert reports and testimony transcripts from actual cases.
Expert Witness Verdicts and Settlements
Browse --> Sources --> By Category --> Jury Verdicts & Settlements
Filter by jurisdiction and then look for the "Expert Witness Verdicts and Settlements" for that jurisdiction

Print Directories

Martindale-Hubbell Directory of Experts & Legal Services : Buyer's Guide by LexisNexis
Call Number: Reserve: KF190 .M29 2009-10
Publication Date: 2009-2010

Working with Experts

Art of Advocacy - Cross Examination of Non-Medical Experts This link opens in a new window
Offers general tips for preparing questions and working through an expert cross examination as well as chapters devoted to specific types of experts such as fire experts, scientists, economists, vocational rehab, engineers and epidemiologists, among others. Includes guidance on questioning tests and results as well as model questions and answers. Updated annually. See index link below to browse by topic.
Art of Advocacy - Cross Examination of Non-Medical Experts - INDEX This link opens in a new window
Alphabetical index of materials covered in Art of Advocacy-Cross Examination of Non-Medical Experts

Cross-Examining Psychiatrists and Psychologists by Alan T. Radnor
ISBN: 9781627228565
Publication Date: 2014
From publisher: "thorough examination of the substantive areas involved in cross-examining these professionals for both plaintiff and defense attorneys. Unedited, real trial transcripts demonstrate good and not-so-good approaches to cross-examination, with helpful notations pointing to substantive areas and techniques you need. Included in the book are examples of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-5) and psychological testing cross-examinations; common psychological concepts and a glossary of terms; sections on discovery, finding the right expert, preparing for cross, and attacking opinions; and mental status examinations, psychological testing, and standard psychological facts."

Westlaw Expert Directories and Reports

Expert Witness Curricula Vitae and Resumes
Search across court-filed and non-court filed. Can search by keyword, expert name, area of expertise or profession.
Expert Witness Directory
Search across 15,000+ experts, expert witnesses, investigators, court reporters, consultants, and litigation support professionals.
Westlaw Profiler--Expert Witnesses
Searches across multiple sources and provides links to resumes, expert testimony, case opinions, articles and other resources involving that expert. Search by name, city, state, foreign country, area of expertise or by keyword.
West's National Physician Directory
Detailed profiles for all active and retired physicians nationwide. Search by name, area of expertise or keyword.
Forensic Services Directory
Search by name, expertise or keyword.
Case Evaluator Report Builder
Case Evaluator reports analyze jury verdict data, excerpts of verdicts and relevant court documents, and relevant medical and expert information. Search by jurisdiction, type of case, injury and other filters to create a customized report.
more...less...
See the help center for additional search tips: https://i1.next.westlaw.com/StaticContent_46.2.2004/help/documents/caseEvaluator_reports.html

Free Expert Directories

ForensisGroup
Expert matching service. Search by discipline or location. No direct contact information provided for the experts.
National Directory of Expert Witnesses
Search by keyword, area of expertise, or expert name or company.
JurisPro Directory
Search by name or area of expertise. Also available on Lexis Advance.
SEAK Expert Witness Directory
Search by keyword, area of expertise or location.

Additional Resources

Daubert Practice 2013: How to Avoid Getting Sliced by Cutting-Edge Developments in Expert Witness Challenges
Continuing education course handbook. See "Related Items" tab for transcript of program.

Resources for Litigators: Experts

Training Resources

Lexis Expert Directories and Reports

Print Directories

Working with Experts

Westlaw Expert Directories and Reports

Free Expert Directories

Additional Resources