LibGuides: Resources for Litigators: Directories

Judges

ALM Judicial Profiles This link opens in a new window
Profiles for federal and state as well as active and inactive judges. Can sort by jurisdiction, status (active, retired etc), political affiliation and method of selection.
Bloomberg BNA's Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges and Clerks This link opens in a new window
Directory information for federal and state judges and their staff. Includes detailed description of court structure for each jurisdiction as well as links to courts' social media sites. Also includes list of reporters for each jurisdiction. Last updated 2018
Bloomberg Law Litigation Analytics This link opens in a new window
Generate a customizable litigation report on companies, law firms, courts, judges, and attorneys. Report categories vary depending on entity searched. Information is pulled from Bloomberg's docket records and reports may be generated going back to 2007. Requires Bloomberg Law account for access.
Federal Judicial Center’s Biographical Directory of Federal Judges (1789 – present) This link opens in a new window

Leadership Directories (Yellow Books)
Available via the Law Library Law Database's page. Older print copies are available in the Reference section of the library. Select Courts from the menu on the left. Advanced search is easier to search by judge name. Basic contact information and some biographical information. Especially useful because it provides a hierarchy of employees in a particular firm, department, or office allowing you to view who reports to whom.
Litigation Profile Suite
Additional service provided via Lexis Advance. Can be accessed from icons button on main Lexis Advance page. Select Judge from the drop down menu to the left of the search box and enter the judge's name. Search filter on the right allows you to limit search to a particular jurisdiction or you can run search and then filter your results by state, city or employer.
Other State Judicial Profiles
Includes judicial listings for California, Florida, Georgia, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas

Pennsylvania Index of Judges This link opens in a new window
Provided by the PA Courts website. Select your court of interest and then look for the "judges" link to view profiles for each judge in that court.

Pennsylvania Judicial Profiles
Westlaw Profiler--Attorneys & Judges
Offers biographical information along with links to verdicts, court filings, case opinions, secondary sources and other materials involving that attorney or judge. Search by name, firm/court, location, state, practice area or by keyword.

Judicial Rating Sites

A note of caution: typically attorneys/litigants will only post to these sites if they are displeased with a judge but reading through the comments may give you an idea of the judge’s demeanor or how he or she approached a particular type of case. This information is not reviewed and approved by the person being profiled as is the case with most official directories.

The Robing Room
Ratings for Federal judges & some state judges
Robe Probe
Requires that you complete free registration to view full ratings profiles

Print Directories: Federal & National

The American Bench: Judges of the Nation
Call Number: Reference: KF8700 .A19 .Am37
Publication Date: 2013
Good for state and local judges
BNA's Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks: A State-By-State and Federal Listing
Call Number: Reference: KF8700.A19 B15
Publication Date: 2018 in Reference, 2019 in Career Strategy Office
Previous editions available in the stacks
Directory of State Court Clerks and County Courthouses 2011 by Claudia Driggins Henley (Editor)
Call Number: Reference: KF8700.A19 .D57 2011
ISBN: 0872897486
Publication Date: 2011
Judicial Staff Directory 2012/Winter by Claudia Driggens-Henley (Editor)
Call Number: Reference: KF8700.A19 .J89
ISBN: 087289648X
Publication Date: 2012
Older versions available on 3rd Floor. Judicial biographies & staff lists.
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory by Martindale-Hubbell
Call Number: Reserve: KF190 .M33 2017
Publication Date: 2017
4-volume set

International Directories

Guide to Foreign Law Firms by James R. Silkenat; William M. Hannay; American Bar Association, Section of International Law Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Lower Level: K118.F6 .A44 2010
ISBN: 1616320028
Publication Date: 2010
Martindale-Hubbell International Law Directory by LexisNexis
Call Number: Reserve: KF190 .M335 2016
Publication Date: 2017
2-volume set
International IP directory by Informa Professional
Call Number: Lower Level: K1544.A485 .I58 2009
Publication Date: 2009
LexisNexis® Law Directory - Int'l. Prof. Bio. Listings
Publication Date: Current
LexisNexis® Law Directory - International Practice Profiles
Publication Date: Current

Arbitrators

Westlaw Profiler--Arbitrators
Pulls from multiple directories. Search by name, organization, country, city or by keyword.
Personnet Arbitrator Biographies
Biographical profiles of arbitrators whose decisions are reported in Personnet Arbitrator's Decisions. Search by keyword only.
Personnet Arbitrator Statistics
Arbitrator statistics (Union/Management/Split) compiled from Personnet's Arbitrator Decisions. Search by keyword only.

Corporate & Business Directories

Directory of Corporate Counsel
Biographical records of corporate counsel and nonprofit organizations, and complete organizational-level listings of corporate counsel. Search by name, law office, state/location, practice area, licenses, college or law school attended, previous positions and other information.
Business Leader Directories
Business directories featuring contact information and employment roles for professionals at various companies.

Attorneys

American Bar Association Leadership Directory
Current edition online; older versions available in print in Reference or on the 2nd Floor at KF190 .A44. Also available on Westlaw: https://1.next.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/Directories/AmericanBarAssociationDirectory?transitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)
Directory of Corporate Counsel
Biographical records of corporate counsel and nonprofit organizations, and complete organizational-level listings of corporate counsel. Search by name, law office, state/location, practice area, licenses, college or law school attended, previous positions and other information.

Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
View contact information, corporate hierarchies and other information for law and lobbying firms, courts, companies, Congress, federal and state agencies and news/media outlets. Includes information not found in other resources. Can also search by practice area and location.

Attorney Directories
Search across directories or locate by practice area or jurisdiction
Marquis’ Who’s Who
Biographical information for prominent attorneys
PA State Bar Records
Most other states make this information available as well, includes disciplinary actions.
West Legal Directory
Search by attorney name or law firm, practice area or geographic location (includes Canada and other international locations)
Westlaw Profiler--Attorneys & Judges
Offers biographical information along with links to verdicts, court filings, case opinions, secondary sources and other materials involving that attorney or judge. Search by name, firm/court, location, state, practice area or by keyword.
Litigation Profile Suite
Additional service provided via Lexis Advance. Can be accessed from icons button on main Lexis Advance page. Select Attorney from the drop down menu to the left of the search box and enter the attorney's name. Search filter on the right allows you to limit search to a particular jurisdiction or you can run search and then filter your results by state, city or employer.

Additional Online Directories

Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
Available via the Law Library Law Database's page. Older print copies are available in the Reference section of the library. Select type of organization from the menu on the left. Search company information, Congress, state and local government officers, non-profits and many other types of organizations. Basic contact information and some biographical information is provided but varies by database. Especially useful because it provides a hierarchy of employees in a particular firm, department, or office allowing you to view who reports to whom. To search by individual name, use the Advanced Search option.

Lexis Advance Directories
Limit to jurisdiction or type using filters. Political and international directories are also available.
LinkedIn
Need to create an account to access. Depth of profiles varies but can be useful for getting a sense of firm practice areas and relationships (which attorneys/firms is this person linked to?)

Print Directories: Pennsylvania & New Jersey

Insider's Guide to the Pennsylvania Judiciary and Courts by American Lawyer Media
Call Number: Reference: KFP508.A19 .P4
Publication Date: Through current year
Formerly known as the Pennsylvania Judicial Directory and County Courthouse Guide
Legal Directory : Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Philadelphia by Philadelphia Bar Association
Call Number: Reference/Reserve: KF192 .P45 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Older editions available on 2nd Floor.
The Legal Intelligencer's Law Firm Directory
Call Number: Reference/Reserve: KF192.P4 .L43 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Pennsylvania Bar Association Lawyers Directory & Product guide by PBA
Call Number: Reference: KFP77.5 .M37
Publication Date: Current through present
The Pennsylvania Legal Directory by Legal Directories Pub. Co
Call Number: Reference: KF192.P3 .P38
Publication Date: Current through present year
2-volume set

Intellectual Property Directories

Westlaw Profiler--Intellectual Property Professionals
Provides biographical information as well as links to resources authored by or mentioning Patent Examiners, Trademark Examiners, Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences administrative law judges, and Trademark Trial and Appeal Board administrative law judges. Search by name, practice area or keyword
Westlaw Profiler--Patent Examiners
Biographical/contact information along with links to granted patents. Search by name, practice area or keyword
Westlaw Profiler--Patent Judges
Biographical and contact information for Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences (BPAI) administrative law judges, with links to administrative decisions. Search by name or keyword.
Westlaw Profiler--Trademark Examiners
Biographical and contact information along with links to administrative decisions. Search by name or keyword.
Westlaw Profiler--Trademark Judges
Biographical and contact information for Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (TTAB) administrative law judges, with links to administrative decisions. Search by name or keyword.