Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal cases only. Search by party name, judge, type of lawsuit and by circuit or state. Can limit by date--database goes back to 2004.
Note: federal links take you to PACER which requires you to set up a paid account. State links vary but most will take you to docket databases provided by the individual courts themselves.
State court websites may also give you access to recent dockets although the types of cases, years of coverage and depth of information included varies widely from one jurisdiction to the next. And while many provide this service for free, others may require that you create an account and pay for access to underlying court documents.
Bloomberg Law--PA State & Federal
Search by: court, keyword, docket number, one or more parties, judge, case name, attorney or firm and by date.
Includes: federal Third Circuit and district courts (coverage from 1989) and PA Supreme Court, Commonwealth Court, and Superior Court (2008 to present). County courts include: Allegheny (from 2014 to present); Berks (from 2008); Bucks (from 1986); Centre (2013 - 4/2017); Dauphin (from 2008); Delaware (from 2008); Lackawanna (from 2008); Lancaster (from 2006); Luzerne (from 2008); Montgomery (from 1988); Philadelphia (from 2010); Washington (from 2014) and Westmoreland (2008).
Pennsylvania (Appellate) Courts
From the PA Courts site. Search for Supreme, Superior or Commonwealth Court cases by docket number or court name. Displays full docket but not access to underlying case documents.
Pennsylvania Court of Common Pleas-Criminal Cases
Search by docket number, party or organization name, parcel number (property), complaint number or other search options.
Pennsylvania Magisterial District Courts Docket Sheets
Search by docket or citation number, date filed, party or organization name, parcel number, police complaint number etc and then limit by county.
Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas and Municipal Court:
Search by party name or by docket number. Click on "Public User" button on the right--no login is required.
PA County Decisions--Trial Court Orders
Extensive coverage from 1998 to present, some dockets from 1900-1998. Filter by date, practice area, attorney, keyword, judge, litigation area, litigants, case type or case status.
Pennsylvania State & Federal Dockets
Includes dockets from the Third Circuit, PA District Courts and Bankruptcy Court as well as from the state supreme and appellate courts. Includes limited access to Common Pleas dockets from Allegheny, Bucks, Delaware, Lancaster (archive only), Philadelphia and Westmoreland counties
State & Federal Trial Court Documents
Search by Type of Document (Motions, Pleadings, Jury Instructions, Exhibits, Interrogatories), by jurisdiction or by Topic/Practice Area.
Bloomberg Law--Available to Law Students & Faculty
Search federal and state dockets by: court, keyword, docket number, one or more parties, judge, case name, attorney or firm and by date. Federal coverage from 1989 and state coverage varies. Academic plan gives you access to some court filings associated with the federal dockets but most state court filings/documents are outside of the school's subscription.
Briefs, Pleadings, and Motions
Federal and state documents. Filter by document type (category), jurisdiction, practice area or publisher. Not all documents and jurisdictions are within the academic subscription.
Bloomberg Law Dockets
Search by: court, keyword, docket number, one or more parties, judge, case name, attorney or firm and by date. Not exhaustive: covers US Federal and most state dockets; some international dockets as well. Federal dockets from 1989 to present while state docket coverage varies by court.
Requires account—anyone can get one, cost is 10 cents per page viewed, billed quarterly. If your research charges for the quarter are less than $15, then the fee is waived. NOTE: students have access to PACER documents through Bloomberg Law while in school and should use Bloomberg Law for docket research instead.
U.S. Supreme Court Dockets-Historical (1791-1995)
Older dockets have been scanned in by the National Archives and are browseable by date.
Westlaw Federal Dockets
Use the "Advanced" search link to search by participant name, docket number, filing date, attorney or keyword. Coverage begins with: Supreme Court (2000), US Courts of Appeals (1997), Federal District Courts (2000), Bankruptcy Courts (1997) and Tax Court and other specialized federal courts (2000).
Lexis Advance Federal Dockets
Provides dockets for Supreme Court, US Courts of Appeals, Federal District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, Tax Court and other specialized federal courts
US Bankruptcy Courts
1994 to present and a few records from 1923 - 1994. Filter by Circuit, date, attorney, law firm, judge and case status.
US Courts of Appeals
Extensive coverage from 2001 to present; some coverage from 1932 - 2001. Civil and criminal cases. Filter by Circuit, judge, party, attorney, law firm, practice area, case status or date.
US District Courts--Civil
Extensive coverage from 1991; some additional cases from 1893-1991. Filter by date, practice area, parties, attorneys, judge, cause of action or case type.
US District Courts--Criminal
Extensive coverage from 1995 to present with some coverage from 1900-1995. Filter by Circuit, date, practice area, judge or case type.
United States Supreme Court
Extensive coverage from 2003 to present; some dockets from 1953 - 2003. Filter by date, practice area, attorney, litigants or case status.
Additional Federal Courts
Tax Court, International Trade Court, US Court of Claims and Judicial
Additional Paid Services--Other State & Federal Dockets
Bloomberg Law--Available to Law Students
Search federal and state dockets by: court, keyword, docket number, one or more parties, judge, case name, attorney or firm and by date. Federal coverage from 1989 and state coverage varies.
Lexis Advance--Available to Law Students & Faculty
Mostly state dockets but some federal civil and criminal dockets are included.
Requires separate subscription. Nationwide coverage, mostly access to complaints—website offers ever-changing free complaints for cases that are profiled in that day’s online edition. Select complaints available for immediate download—others can be ordered for around $35-$40 plus per page copying costs. Can set up “alerts” so emailed every time a new suit is filed involving a particular company, filed by a certain law firm, or involves a specific topic of interest
COCourts.com—Colorado State Courts docket service
Fee for each use ($7 or less for each search). Not the official court’s homepage—court contracts with private publisher (Lexis) to provide docket information to the public.
Doxpop Court Access (Indiana)
Subscription docket service for Indiana Courts