LibGuides: Research Guide for Law Co-curricular Organizations: Quick Links

Research Support

Lori Corso (research training, plagiarism resources)
Email your 1L Legal Research Instructor
Send general questions to our Reference email
Need materials for a cite check? Check our search.law library catalog and if the Law Library or Falvey Library doesn't have it, email Reference and we'll advise you on the next steps (inter-library loan or accessing through other means).

Search for Library Materials
Search for physical and digital holdings in our law library as well as the main campus Falvey Library all in one place (choose combined search). Now includes materials from Westlaw and Lexis as well as Bloomberg Law, HeinOnline and PLI Plus.
Book Request (Book Concierge) Form
Request a book or other print materials from the law library collection. Books will be checked out to you and be available for pickup in the Book Pickup area to the right of the Circulation Desk.
Inter-library Loan Request Form
If you are unable to locate an item in the library catalog (search.law.villnaov.edu), in Falvey's library catalog or on Lexis or Westlaw, please consult with a librarian (reference@law.villanova.edu) and then complete this form and we will try to obtain the material from another library.

Law Library Databases This link opens in a new window
A-Z list of databases. Some require individual accounts while others provide IP access. See individual descriptions for more information.

Law Library Research Guides (Libguides)
Full list of available guides
Research Management Systems Guide
Links and directions for using Zotero and other citation/reference tracking systems
Software & Vendor Training Guide
Trying to navigate a particular database or service? This guide offers getting started guides, videos and other help resources.
Free Sites for Legal Research Guide
Good for “current awareness” materials and tracking down open source items as well as free sources of primary law.

Falvey Catalog Search
Note: search.law.villanova.edu also searches across Falvey's catalog if you choose the "combined" option
Falvey's Contactless Pickup System
Falvey library allows you to place a hold on a book or other hard copy material. That material will be pulled and checked out to you and then you may pick it up from the hold shelf at Falvey library. See link for details
Falvey Subject Guides
Great for locating inter-disciplinary databases for cite-checking or research
Falvey Journal Finder
Locate a database containing a particular journal title. Does NOT include Westlaw or Lexis--search the law library's catalog for these or try Georgetown's journal finder on the Cite Checking page instead.
Falvey's EZ Borrow
Falvey’s EZBorrow: like interlibrary loan but you must pick up and return to Falvey, we’re unable to renew them for you. Current checkout period is 3 weeks from receipt [DO NOT USE FALVEY’S ILLIAD SYSTEM]

Texas Law Review Manual on Usage & Style by Texas Law Review Association
Call Number: Reserve, ask at Circulation Desk
Publication Date: 2017
Also available in the Journals office.

Georgetown Law's Bluebook Guide
Offers examples but note, a new 21st edition of the Bluebook has just been released and hasn't yet been incorporated into this guide
Procertas - Technology Training and Assessment for Lawyers
Offers Bluebooking training modules and assessments to practice what you have learned. Contact Lori Corso if you do not have an account/forget your password: lori.corso@law.villanova.edu. Please note that Procertas access will expire in June 2025
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
From Cornell's Legal Information Institute. Includes video tutorials and many examples.

Legal Citation in a Nutshell
Call Number: Reserve Study, ask at Circulation Desk
ISBN: 1636598110
Legal Writing Citation in a Nutshell
Call Number: Reserve Study, ask at Circulation Desk
Publication Date: 2008