Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bloomberg Law Training Materials or call 24/7: 888-560-2529
The Bloomberg resources below will prompt you to login with your Bloomberg login and password and are therefore not available to those without an active Bloomberg subscription.
Bloomberg Law Help Center
Read Frequently Asked Questions and view videos and other support materials addressing the features and databases provided by Bloomberg Law.
Bloomberg Certification Courses
Must register to access certification program covering Bloomberg Law basic and advanced searching. Students who complete all courses earn a Certification that can be added to their resume or LinkedIn profile. Modules include an Introduction o Bloomberg Law, Fundamentals of Primary Law, Fundamentals of Secondary Law, Litigation, Transactional Practice, Federal Tax Practice and State Tax Research.
Bloomberg Law Live Webinar Trainings (also archived)
During the academic year, Bloomberg offers live 30 minute trainings on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The topics vary for sessions to session with both beginning and advanced topics covered. The link above is continually updated as new sessions are posted. Sessions are archived for later viewing and recordings are also accessible via the link above.
Bloomberg Law Youtube Channel
View videos created by Bloomberg Law highlighting different databases, interviews with Bloomberg users and other videos deemed to be of interest to legal researchers and Bloomberg subscribers.
Checkpoint Training Materials
Currently Villanova Law only subscribes to the federal and state and local tax libraries. Faculty and students should see the Law Databases page to create an account.
Checkpoint User Guide
Lengthy (over 350 pages) pdf user guide that can be downloaded or viewed online.
Checkpoint Video Demos
More of a marketing tool but does demonstrate some key features of Checkpoint.
Checkpoint Live & Recorded Webinars
Select the product of interest to you and then live or recorded session. Please note: at this time Villanova Law only subscribes to the federal and state and local tax libraries.
Fastcase Training Materials
The Fastcase resources below DO NOT require product login before accessing so may be viewed by nonsubscribers as well as subscribers.
Subscribers/law school faculty and staff can log in here. Law students and faculty can sign up for a Fastcase account here. See the Law Databases page for more information.
Fastcase Documentation & Downloads
User Guides and other support documents.
Frequently asked questions about logging in and searching the Fastcase platform.
Fastcase Video Tutorials
View pre-recorded videos demonstrating various searches and search techniques using Fastcase.
Fastcase Live Webinars
View live introductory or advanced webinars on searching using Fastcase. May qualify for CLE credits depending on jurisdiction.
Posts offer search tips for various types of searching including how to locate immigration materials, how to search for cases involving a specific judge etc.
Hein Online or call 800-277-6995
Hein Online offers access to a number of primary and secondary resources specifically law reviews and journals (including historical coverage back to the first volume for many titles), government documents including access to previous versions of the CFR, USC and other primary sources as well as a wonderful list of compiled federal legislative histories. Other notable collections include: Early American and English case reports, International Law Association Reports, John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection, Religion and the Law, UNC Press Law publications, US Presidential Impeachment Library and historical State Statutes.
HeinOnline Comprehensive User Guide
Detailed guide for searching the databases and using this research platform.
Hein offers research guides on many of its database. Browse the list by database name to maximize searches and discover what content is contained in each database.
HeinOnline Knowledge Base
Comprehensive "Help" page with links to articles and training videos on Access issues, Training Guides, Search tips and more.
HeinOnline Training Videos (Youtube)
Covers searching, database tools and some of the collections. See the Knowledge Base link for more videos including those related to specific collections.
HeinOnline Knowledge Base (videos)
Link to the Training Videos section of the Knowledge Base
MyHein User Guide
MyHein allows you to bookmark materials, save searches and set up custom Table of Contents alerts. This guide walks through setting up these optional advanced features.
Lexis Training Materials or call 24/7 800-455-3947
In addition to the training materials below, Lexis also offers a certification program allowing students to complete a set number of trainings to become Lexis Certified. The list of students (and attorneys) who have obtained certification is then posted to the web here. Students must contact the law school's Lexis rep, Thomas Daniel ("TD"), to register for the certification program and to get more information about the trainings. TD's contact information can be found on the Law School's Lexis login page.
Ravel Training Materials
Ravel is a start up legal research service that is based on analytics. It's main feature is an analysis of judicial opinions to try to predict how a judge or court may rule on a particular issue or type of case. It does offer access to the United States Code and the Code of Federal Regulations but its coverage of primary and secondary law is not comprehensive. Students can create a free educational account.
The resources below do not require a Ravel login to access so they are available to non-subscribers as well.
Westlaw & Practical Law Training Materials or call 24/7 800-850-9378
The Westlaw resources below will prompt you to log into Westlaw before you can access them (with the exception of the Youtube videos) so they are only available to subscribers.
Westlaw Getting Started Research Guide
Directed towards new Westlaw users, offers extensive screenshots.
Westlaw Training Lessons and Quizzes
Short video lessons on a wide variety of topics with "knowledge check" quizzes available to test your mastery of these tasks/tools.
Westlaw Guided Exercises
Practice exercises covering a variety of Westlaw tools and search techniques including 50 State Surveys, Quick Check, Notes of Decisions, Statutes and Regulations Compare, Filtering and Searching and more.
Westlaw User Guides
This page brings together videos and pdf user guides as well as a frequently asked questions section.
Westlaw Certification Training
Complete on-demand 3-step certification tutorials and successfully pass a quiz on the tutorials to earn Westlaw certification. Each tutorial is approximately 30 minutes in length. Several other quick training videos are also provided on this site.
Westlaw Video Tutorials
View pre-recorded videos covering both basic and advanced searching and a variety of material types and databases.
Westlaw Youtube Videos
From Thomson Reuters Legal. Offers videos demonstrating various features of Westlaw and related content.
Practical Law Youtube Videos
Videos and how-tos for using this Thomson Reuters product (available via academic Westlaw subscription)
Wolters Kluwer Cheetah Training Materials (Formerly CCH IntelliConnect)
Wolters Kluwer's Cheetah, formerly known as CCH IntelliConnect, is a specialized research platform offering access to tax, corporate financial and other related publications from the Commerce Clearing House. Students and faculty should see the Law Databases page to create an account.