LibGuides: Research Guide for Law Co-curricular Organizations: Cite Checking

Deciphering Citations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Enter the source abbreviation at this site for a list of possible titles for that abbreviation. For example, enter L.Lib.J. and the journal title Law Library Journal is provided. Note that this database "mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included."

If you run across a citation that you do not recognize, there are a number of options to try:

-- perhaps you were only given part of the article and a more complete citation is provided earlier in the article, ask for the entire article

-- use an internet search engine such as google or duck duck go to look for the citation, these results may provide additional information

-- use the Tables in the back of The Bluebook, particularly Table 13

-- use the abbreviation dictionaries listed in the box below

-- ask a law librarian for assistance

Law.Technology Bluebook Abbreviations This link opens in a new window
Search by abbreviation or use the List of Journals link to view an alphabetical link of law journal titles and their abbreviations. Double check abbreviations with Bluebook tables to be sure they are correct.
Acronym Finder This link opens in a new window

The Acronym Server

Abbreviation Dictionaries in Print

Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by Mary Miles Prince
ISBN: 9780837716251
Publication Date: 2021
The law library has one copy of this title in the Reference area on the first floor and older copies on the 2nd Floor at: KF246 .B47
Acronyms, Initialism and Abbreviations Dictionary
ISBN: 1414419023
Publication Date: 2008
This dictionary covers non-legal abbreviations. In Reference section and on 3rd Floor at: P365 .I57
International Acronyms, Initialisms and Abbreviations by Mary Rose Bonk
ISBN: 0810377977
Publication Date: 2001
This dictionary covers non-legal international abbreviations. Additional copy on 3rd Floor at P365 .I57

Determining WHERE to get an article ...

Once you have deciphered a citation and know the name of the journal or source that you need, there are several ways to determine WHERE to find that journal (or primary source).

Falvey Journal Finder This link opens in a new window
Search by Journal Title to see which platform/database contains that title. Note that this Journal Finder is limited to databases available to the entire Villanova community. It does not include Law School specific databases such as Westlaw and Lexis Advance.
Georgetown Journal Finder This link opens in a new window
Click on “Journal” option near the search box and enter the title of the journal to see what online platforms may have it, though it may not be a PDF/paginated the same as the as the print version. Will indicate if it is available on Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg etc or through a non-legal database such as ProQuest, EBSCO and others. Log into the legal platforms with your Villanova logins or go to Falvey Library's A-Z database list to see if we have access to that resource, then run a search in that database for article title.
Villanova Law Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for print and some electronic materials in the law library's collection. Use the combined search option to find materials in Falvey Library (main campus) as well.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
May also link to articles found in other inter-disciplinary databases as well (Hathi Trust, JSTOR etc.).and to other free websites. When using Google Scholar make sure that you have located a final version of an article and not a pre-publication draft.
Law Commons (Bepress) This link opens in a new window
Search for law reviews provided for free by their law schools. Search by institution name or subject area or search across materials by keyword.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Open-access journals from many different disciplines in addition to law. Search by keyword across all journals or select a subject area first.

Villanova Law Library Interlibrary Loan Request
Use this e-form to submit an interlibrary loan request for a book or article IF it is not available at the law library, the main campus library or on HeinOnline.

Or email Villanova Law Reference with questions or to set up a consultation with a law librarian.

Finding Books ...

To locate books, use the links below in the order they appear:

Villanova Law Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for the book by TITLE or AUTHOR to determine if it is in our collection.

Library Book Request - Concierge Service
Falvey Library of Villanova University Catalog
Search for the book in the main campus library catalog. Can also search by series title or author
Villanova University Campus Map
To get books from Falvey Library, walk to the train station, then under the tracks and up the hill. Consult this map. Falvey Library is #17 and the Law School is #53.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
For older, well-known legal texts which are available as PDF scans of the print copies but also contains some newer materials like UNC Press publications and ALI Restatements. See the following Collections/Libraries on Hein and search them individually by title and by author name: American Law Institute (Restatements & Principles of Law), Legal Classics, UNC Press Law Publications and collections devoted to specific topics like Religion and the Law, Slavery in America and the World and Women and the Law.

Villanova Law Library Interlibrary Loan Request
Use this e-form to submit an interlibrary loan request for a book or article IF it is not available at the law library, the main campus library or on HeinOnline.

Or email Villanova Law Reference with questions or to set up a consultation with a law librarian.

What to Know Before You ILL

Before submitting an ILL request, check with a Law Librarian--we may be able to locate the resource through other means or offer additional search suggestions. Email reference@law.villanova.edu
Interlibrary loan form can be found online
Provide as much information as you can—page numbers and section titles are particularly helpful and will result in faster service!
You must do the following before you submit your request or it may get bounced back to you—ask for help with any of these searches if you are unsure!
- Check for the item in Search.law library catalog
- Check Westlaw, Lexis & Bloomberg
- Check Falvey’s catalog
Can usually renew the item from the lending library—contact Mary Jo Heacock BEFORE the due date on the yellow slip; pickup and return items at the library reference desk
Item is checked out in YOUR name even if being used for a cite check that’s to be handed over to someone else (same goes with books checked out from our collection)

To locate Government Documents

Govinfo.gov This link opens in a new window
Access to many different collections of federal materials. See A-Z databases list to select proper database. Most offer PDF links to view print facsimiles. Use the Search button to get to Citation search for easy access.
Congress.gov (US Congressional materials) This link opens in a new window
Links to bills, Public Laws, Committee activities, the Congressional Record and much more.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Online version often links to PDFs of the original documents. The drop down menu allows you to narrow your search to a specific Catalog including: Congressional Serial Set, Congressional Publications, Electronic Titles, and FDLP Web Archive among others.
Villanova Law Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the law library catalog for books and some electronic materials. Try a keyword search, browse for a title of interest and then expand your search by clicking on a Subject link. Use the combined search to search across Falvey library's collections too.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes any government collections, especially older versions, all with PDFs of the original, print publications such as: US Code, US Congressional Documents (Congressional Record, Congressional hearings, CRS reports and others), US Federal Agency Documents and Decisions, US Presidential Library , US Statutes at Large, US Supreme Court materials , US Treaties, State and World Constitutions and State Statutes and Session Laws.

Also check individual federal or state agency websites for current materials.

Subject Guide

Amy Spare

she/her

Email Me

Research Guide for Law Co-curricular Organizations: Cite Checking

Deciphering Citations

Abbreviation Dictionaries in Print

Determining WHERE to get an article ...

Finding Books ...

What to Know Before You ILL

Before submitting an ILL request, check with a Law Librarian--we may be able to locate the resource through other means or offer additional search suggestions. Email reference@law.villanova.edu

Interlibrary loan form can be found online

Provide as much information as you can—page numbers and section titles are particularly helpful and will result in faster service!

You must do the following before you submit your request or it may get bounced back to you—ask for help with any of these searches if you are unsure!

Check for the item in Search.law library catalog

Check Westlaw, Lexis & Bloomberg

Check Falvey’s catalog

Can usually renew the item from the lending library—contact Mary Jo Heacock BEFORE the due date on the yellow slip; pickup and return items at the library reference desk

Item is checked out in YOUR name even if being used for a cite check that’s to be handed over to someone else (same goes with books checked out from our collection)

To locate Government Documents

Subject Guide