LibGuides: Research Guide for Law Co-curricular Organizations: Sports Negotiation

Negotiation for Sports Lawyers and Agents

Alternative Dispute Resolution in a Nutshell by Jacqueline Nolan-Haley
Call Number: KF9084 .Z9 .N65 2021
ISBN: 9781684674336
Publication Date: 2021-09-29
This title presents a concise summary of alternatives to the court adjudication of disputes. On-point discussion facilitates an understanding of the wide variety of options available that can better suit a client's needs, such as negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and various mixed mode hybrids such as arb-med, med-arb, consensus-building as well as court-connected processes. Particular attention is focused on the legal and ethical issues associated with negotiation, mediation and arbitration. Other topics include dispute system design, implicit bias, repeat player bias, and third-party funding.
The Business of Sports Agents by Kenneth L. Shropshire; Timothy Davis; N. Jeremi Duru
Call Number: GV734.5 .S58 2016
ISBN: 9780812248159
Publication Date: 2016-05-16
Successful sports agents are comfortable with high finance and intense competition for the right to represent talented players, and the most respected agents are those who can deal with the pressures of high-stakes negotiations in an honest fashion. But whereas rules and penalties govern the playing field, there are far fewer restrictions on agents. In The Business of Sports Agents, Kenneth L. Shropshire, Timothy Davis, and N. Jeremi Duru, experts in the fields of sports business and law, examine the history of the sports agent business and the rules and laws developed to regulate the profession.
Careers in Sports Law by Marc Edelman; Geoffrey Christopher Rapp; American Bar Association, Forum on the Entertainment and Sports Industries Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF299 .S66 .E34 2014
ISBN: 9781627227780
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Sports are an essential part of modern American society. The lawyer has the opportunity to help athletes, coaches, leagues and teams resolve disputes in the world of sport. This book conducts a thorough, thoughtful investigation of what options may exist and what kinds of steps are needed to maximize one s chances of netting a coveted sports law job."
Effective Legal Negotiation and Settlement by Charles B. Craver
Call Number: KF9084 .C7 2016
ISBN: 9781632848055
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
This book includes a comprehensive conceptual framework for the negotiation process. The author provides readers with a thorough understanding of the psychological, sociological, and communicational factors that meaningfully influence negotiation encounters. Effective Legal Negotiation and Settlement explores various negotiation stages, emphasizes the importance of verbal and nonverbal communication, and discusses the different bargaining techniques negotiators are likely to encounter.
The Handbook of Dispute Resolution by Michael L. Moffitt (Editor); Robert C. Bordone (Editor)
Call Number: KF9084 .H36 2005
ISBN: 9780787975388
Publication Date: 2005-08-16
This volume is an essential, cutting-edge reference for all practitioners, students, and teachers in the field of dispute resolution. The Handbook offers insights on how to understand disputants. It explores how personality factors, emotions, concerns about identity, relationship dynamics, and perceptions contribute to the escalation of disputes. The volume also explains some of the lessons available from viewing disputes through the lens of gender and cultural differences.
How to Play the Game by Darren A. Heitner
Call Number: KF299.S66 .H45 2018
ISBN: 9781641050685
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
How to Play the Game, by Miami-based attorney and sports agent Darren Heitner, is the go-to source for anyone interested in getting into the field of sports law. It discusses the laws that govern the sports industry, from contract drafting and negotiation to antitrust issues, intellectual property matters, and labor law concerns.
Lawyers, Clients and Narrative by Carolyn Grose; Margaret E. Johnson
Call Number: KF300 .G767 2017
ISBN: 9781531003845
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
This book is a new primary text for use by the full panoply of experiential courses, including clinical, externship, legal writing, practical, interviewing, negotiation, counseling, and trial/appellate advocacy. This is a comprehensive book for using narrative, stories, and storytelling to develop more fully and effectively as a lawyer. The book provides the theory and information for planning for, conducting, and reflecting on various lawyering activities.
Negotiating on Behalf of Others by Robert H. Mnookin (Editor); Lawrence E. Susskind (Editor)
Call Number: HD58.6 .N426 1999
ISBN: 0761913270
Publication Date: 1999-10-11
Negotiating on Behalf of Others offers a framework for understanding the complexity and effects of negotiating on behalf of others and explores how current negotiation theory can be modified to account for negotiation agents. Negotiation agents are broadly defined to include legislators, diplomats, salespersons, sports agents, attorneys, and committee chairs-anyone who represents others in a negotiation. Five major negotiation arenas are examined in depth: labor-management relations, international diplomacy, sports agents, legislative process, and agency law.
Never Split the Difference by Chris Voss; Tahl Raz
Call Number: BF637.N4 .V67 2016
ISBN: 9780062407801
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
In this practical guide, the author shares the nine effective principles--counterintuitive tactics and strategies--you too can use to become more persuasive in both your professional and personal life. Life is a series of negotiations you should be prepared for: buying a car, negotiating a salary, buying a home, renegotiating rent, deliberating with your partner. Taking emotional intelligence and intuition to the next level, Never Split the Difference gives you the competitive edge in any discussion.
Principles of Alternative Dispute Resolution by Stephen Ware
Call Number: KF9084 .W367 2023
ISBN: 9781684677276
Publication Date: 2023-03-29
Provides a clear and reliable statement of the law and concepts central to ADR (arbitration, negotiation, mediation, and other processes). Its thorough coverage of arbitration law renders this challenging and rapidly-changing body of statutes and case law accessible to the student or lawyer. The chapters on negotiation and mediation treat the subjects from the perspectives of theory, practice, and legal doctrine.
Psychology for Lawyers by Jennifer K. Robbennolt; Jean R. Sternlight
Call Number: K346 .R63 2021
ISBN: 9781641058162
Publication Date: 2022-05-02
Law is a profession centered on human interaction. Virtually every aspect of the practice of law can be enhanced by a well-grounded understanding of psychology--the science of how people think, feel, and behave. Lawyers who harness the insights of psychology will be more effective interviewers and counselors, engage in more successful negotiations, conduct more efficient and useful discovery, communicate more ably, better identify and avoid ethical problems, and even be more productive and happy.
Structured Negotiation by Lainey Feingold
Call Number: KF9084 .F45 2016
ISBN: 9781634255448
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Imagine successfully resolving legal claims without depositions, expert battles, or runaway costs. Picture a process that offers win-win solutions, encourages relationships, and does not involve lawsuits. This is Structured Negotiation, the alternative dispute resolution method described in this ground-breaking book. Lainey Feingold has used Structured Negotiation for two decades to achieve landmark settlements with some of the largest entities in the United States. Now she offers a nuts and bolts guide for attorneys and advocates eager for an effective new strategy to resolve legal claims.
Understanding Alternative Dispute Resolution by Kristen M. Blankley; Maureen A. Weston
Call Number: K2390 .B53 2017
ISBN: 9780769862507
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Understanding Alternative Dispute Resolution provides a comprehensive overview of the field of Alternative Dispute Resolution ("ADR"). The use of ADR methods has grown rapidly and touches the practices of lawyers on a local, national, and international level. ADR has transformed the nature of the lawyers' practice and roles as client counselor, advocate, and neutral. The treatise covers the major ADR processes, including client counseling, negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and collaborative law and addresses legal, practical, and ethical aspects of each process.

Word Formatting Resources

LinkedIn Learning: Word Essential Training (Microsoft 365) This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create, edit, format, and share documents with ease using the Microsoft 365 subscription version of Word.
Microsoft Support: Add & Format Text and Other Functions In Word This link opens in a new window
Video tutorials from Microsoft Support: Videos and instructions to use Word to Add and Format Text; Create a bulleted or numbered list; Change the line spacing; Apply styles; and, Apply themes. If using Microsoft Office 365 licensed to Villanova University, sign in to personal account using Villanova MyNova credentials.
Microsoft Support: Create a Table of Authorities This link opens in a new window
Text instructions on creating a table of authorities in Microsoft Word. A table of authorities lists the references in a legal document, along with the numbers of the pages the references appear on.
Microsoft Support: Create a Table of Contents and Other Word Functions This link opens in a new window
Video tutorials from Microsoft Support: Videos and instructions to use Word to Insert a Table of Contents; Change margins; Insert a header or footer; Insert page numbers; Insert a page break; and more. If using Microsoft Office 365 licensed to Villanova University, sign in to personal account using Villanova MyNova credentials.
Microsoft Support: Insert a Table and Other Word Functions This link opens in a new window
Video tutorials from Microsoft Support: Videos and instructions to use Word to Insert a table; Insert a picture; Wrap text around a picture; and more. If using Microsoft Office 365 licensed to Villanova University, sign in to personal account using Villanova MyNova credentials.
Villanova University UNIT: Office 365 This link opens in a new window
Information on use and access of Microsoft Office 365 for Villanova University students.
Villanova University UNIT: Using Office 365 This link opens in a new window
If using Microsoft Office 365 licensed by VIllanova University, this resource provides numerous user resources, including tutorials on Word from LinkedIn Learning.

Procertas Legal Technology Skills

Procertas - Technology Training and Assessment for Lawyers
Complete tutorials and practice tasks in Microsoft Word (also available for Excel, Powerpoint and Adobe) such as creating a Table of Authorities, using Word Styles and other functions related to legal work.. Now includes several modules on Bluebooking. Bluebooking 1 covers basic resources while Bluebooking 2 is more detailed and aimed at scholarly legal writing for law reviews and seminar papers. Bluebooking 3 is an assessment offering additional practice in generating and correcting citations.
Procertas-Skills Covered in Each Module
View a list of each task/skill covered by the Procertas product modules (Bluebooking, Excel, Word, PDF, and PowerPoint)

Need a Procertas account? Request one here

Sports Law Study Aids

Study Aids provide vital background information on selected legal topics. The following titles are suggested for Sports Law students and practitioners: