LibGuides: Free Sites for Legal Research : General Search Tips

Search Engines

Bing
Search engine from Microsoft
Duck Duck Go
The search engine that does not track you.
Google Advanced Search
Features of advanced search include ALL THESE WORDS, NONE OF THESE WORDS, Number ranges, and focusing a search to a particular file type or domain name.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Links to articles and abstracts of articles on HeinOnline, SelectedWorks and SSRN.

How To Conduct Free Legal Research Using Google Scholar (Part 1)
Two-part article. Complete with screenshots. Updated 2015
How to Conduct Free Legal Research Using Google Scholar (Part 2)
Part 2 of the two-part article
Microsoft Edge
Another browser from Microsoft. Offers more options for blocking trackers, can edit PDFs in the browser and integrates with Microsoft 365 to making sharing and attaching files easier
Top Five Ways to Maximize Google Searches
Helpful tips from the Social Law Library of Boston, Massachusetts.
Vimeo
Search for and share videos. Can join for free

Public Libraries

Additional Pennsylvania County Libraries

Bucks County Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Chester County Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Delaware County Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Free Library of Philadelphia This link opens in a new window
Any resident of Pennsylvania may apply online, at no cost, for a Free Library of Philadelphia card.
Montgomery County Public Libraries This link opens in a new window

Other Pennsylvania County Law Libraries

Adams County This link opens in a new window
Allegheny County This link opens in a new window
Beaver County This link opens in a new window
Berks County This link opens in a new window
Butler County This link opens in a new window
Carbon County This link opens in a new window
Cumberland County This link opens in a new window
Dauphin County This link opens in a new window
Fayette County This link opens in a new window
Franklin County This link opens in a new window
Greene County This link opens in a new window
Lackawanna County This link opens in a new window
Lancaster County This link opens in a new window
Lawrence County This link opens in a new window
Lebanon County This link opens in a new window
Lehigh County This link opens in a new window
Lycoming County This link opens in a new window
Mercer County This link opens in a new window
Northampton County This link opens in a new window
Schuylkill County This link opens in a new window
Somerset County This link opens in a new window
Washington County This link opens in a new window
Westmoreland County This link opens in a new window
York County This link opens in a new window

Law Libraries--Other States

State, Court & County Law Libraries
Provided by Washburn University School of Law (NOTE: no longer updated after June 1, 2019)
State, County, & Law School Libraries
From Openjurist.org. Organized alphabetically by library name rather than location.

New to Legal Research on the Web? Researching in an Unfamiliar Area? Start with a Guide

When starting a new research project, it is often helpful to get an overview of the available resources. Try a basic google search for "law library guide" and your subject area: copyright, evidence, employment law, whatever.

Georgetown Law Library Research Guides
How to Research a Legal Problem: A Guide for Non-Lawyers
"This guide is intended to help a person with a legal problem find legal rules that can resolve or prevent conflict. It is most useful to work through the steps and sources in the order given.
The Internet as a Legal Research Tool
"This helpful guide from the Private Law Libraries Special Interest Section of AALL has sections on pros and cons of using the web for legal research, criteria for evaluating internet resources, tips on conducting research and a list of recommended sites."
Jenkins Law Library Research Links and Resource Guides
Use the links on the left to access Jenkins' Research Links (primarily free sites) or Resource Guides (features resources for Jenkins members AND includes detailed guides for particular areas, such as PA Legislative History).
Villanova Law Library Research Guides

Law Libraries-Philadelphia Area

Bucks County Law Library This link opens in a new window
Chester County Law Library This link opens in a new window
Francis J. Catania Law Library (Delaware Co.) This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to Westlaw.
Jenkins Law Library This link opens in a new window
Jenkins is a membership library but is open to the public (non-attorneys) for a fee of $5 per day (see the "General Public" tab for details).

Law Library of the First Judicial District of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia)
No computer/internet access--may use print collection. Can search catalog online to make sure they have title needed.

Montgomery County Law Library This link opens in a new window
Offers reference services and free access to Westlaw and Lexis.
Villanova Law Library This link opens in a new window
Visitors may utilize the print materials and access a number of databases on-site using a personal laptop or the computer terminal next to the library reference desk.

Databases available when you visit Villanova Law Library

Alumni and visitors may access the following databases from the computer terminal next to the library Reference Desk, no additional passwords required. These databases are not accessible remotely. Descriptions of each database can be found on the Law Databases page.

Aspen Learning Library (study aids like Examples & Explanations series)
Foreign Law Guide
Gale: The Making of Modern Law (Multiple collections of foreign resources, 1600 - 1970)
HeinOnline
International Encyclopaedia of Laws (Wolters Kluwer)
Law360
Leadership Connect
The Legal Intelligencer
Lexis Digital Library (study aids including the Understanding Series)
The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)
PLI PLUS
ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Statistical Insight

Guides Available at Villanova

The Cybersleuth's Guide to the Internet: Conducting Effective Free Investigative & Legal Research on the Web by Carole A. Levitt; Mark E. Rosch
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF242.A1 .L481 2012
ISBN: 0971325790
Publication Date: 2017
Finding Info Like a Pro: Mining the Internet's Public Records for Investigative Research by Carole A. Levitt; Mark E. Rosch
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF242.A1 .L492 2011
ISBN: 1604429224
Publication Date: 2011
Free Internet Legal Research, Second Revised Edition by Kristen R. Moore
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF242.A1 S37 2017
ISBN: 1600422926
Publication Date: 2017
Google for Lawyers by Carole A. Levitt; Mark E. Rosch
Call Number: Lower Level: K87 .L48 2010
ISBN: 1604428228
Publication Date: 2010
Internet Legal Research by PBI
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF242.A1 .I68 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Internet Legal Research on a Budget by Carole A. Levitt; Judy K. Davis; American Bar Association, Law Practice Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF242.A1 .L479 2014
ISBN: 1627226168
Publication Date: 2014

Subject Guide

Lori Corso

Email Me

Subject Guide

Amy Spare

she/her

Email Me

Noteworthy

ABA TechShow 60 in 60 2023 (slides)
ABA TechShow 60 in 60 2022 (slides)
ABA TechShow 60 in 60 2021 (article)
ABA Techshow 2020-60 in 60 (slide show)
ABA Techshow 2017: 60 Tips in 60 Minutes (slide show)
ABA TechShow List of 60 sites in 60 minutes -- 2015
ABA TechShow List of 60 sites in 60 minutes -- 2014
Data.gov
Find data sets for municipalities, county and states. Data provided mostly by state and local governments although some is received from academic institutions and non-profits.
Downdetector.com
Use to figure out if a service provider (including utilities) or website (including social media and streaming sites) is experiencing outages. Can search by website domain or keyword. Can also view outage histories.
Down For Everyone or Just Me?
Check to see if a site is offline/disabled or if the problem is with your computer or web connection.

Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
This site archives websites at a given point in time. Look here for sites that seemed to have disappeared and for information that was taken off a site.