Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Supreme Court
United States Reports
From 1790 - 2005 (up to volume 546 U.S.).
Supreme Court Opinions (archive)
From Cornell's Legal Information Institute. Opinions from 1990 - present; some historic opinions. Search or browse by year, judge or topic. Current opinions available in PDF.
U.S. Federal District Courts
Select CASE LAW and Select COURTS: Federal, States, etc. Pre and Post Search filtering options. Includes a How Cited link to other cases and articles.
The Public Library of Law
Free cases, statutes, and rules from Fastcase; requires a free registration. Also includes links to enhanced Fastcase content for which there is a fee.
Register for free access to US Supreme Court and Circuit Court decisions and a unique, visual approach to legal research. Fee plans for access to more content and judge analytics.
Casemaker free to PA Bar Association members
Use this link to sign up for Casemaker as a member of the Pennsylvania Bar Association. Full list of databases covered by the PBA's subscription can be found here: https://www.pabar.org/pdf/CMLibrary.pdf
Villanova law students, faculty and staff may register for a free account for CasemakerX here: http://www.casemakerx.com/signup.aspx
Members of some state bar associations have free access to FastCase. Check this link to see a list of bar associations providing this benefit.
Villanova law students, faculty, and staff may access Fastcase for free here: https://tinyurl.com/fastcaseCWSL
Low-cost alternative to Westlaw and Lexis but offers free access for law school students, faculty and staff (sign up for an account here: https://casetext.com/lawschool). Provides access to statutes, regulations, court rules and case law from Federal and some state courts. Access to some federal administrative agency decisions as well. Use the CARA A.I. to check for additional authorities (upload brief and it will be checked against statutes and case law in Casetext's database for other relevant authorities).
Regulations and Agencies
A - Z Index of Government Departments & Agencies
From USA.gov. Browse alphabetical listing of all departments, agencies, commissions etc. or search by keyword, branch of government or topic.
CyberCemetery (Defunct Agency Websites)
Archive of government websites that have ceased operation (agencies that are now defunct or commissions that have concluded their business). Maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries and the Government Printing Office. Search or browse by agency name, branch of government or date of agency expiration.
Offers current day's Federal Register (even a day ahead!) and archives back to 1994. Use the "Advanced Document Search" option for more precise searching.
Nonprofit site providing access to federal documents turned over in response to Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. Search by keyword or browse list of logs by agency name or documents by category. The Links page lists additional free information sources.
GovInfo Discover U.S. Government Information
Includes current and past editions of the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and much more.
Office of the Federal Register
Includes the Federal Register, Unified Agenda, Public Inspection documents (documents scheduled to be published in upcoming issues of the Federal Register), customized alert options, and much more.
Regulations.gov: Proposed Regulations Comment Site
Post or view comments on proposed regulations (not all agencies use this site).
U.S. Government Manual
This official publication offers information about programs and activities within all three branches of government including agencies, departments, quasi-official agencies, boards, and commissions.
The American Presidency Project--Presidential Documents
Database compiled by UC Santa Barbara. Search by year, browse by document category or use Search button to conduct keyword search across all document types or pick one to search in. Includes Executive Orders, Signing Statements, Eulogies, Press statements, Inaugural and Farewell Addresses and many other types of documents. Full coverage of Executive Orders from 1945 to present; some earlier orders from 1800s - 1945 included and continues to be updated with new orders from the current administration as well as older materials. Dates vary depending on document type--some coverage goes back to George Washington's presidency. NOTE: reprints the text of the executive orders and other documents but does not provide scans of the orders as they appeared in the Federal Register. Use the date information provided to locate the official Federal Register image for of that order on Govinfo.gov or in print.
Archived Presidential White House Websites
Archive of White House websites from previous administrations (Clinton through Trump).
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
White House (current administration)
Site is archived at the end of each administration--see the National Archives link below for access to previous administration materials (Clinton, Bush, Obama & Trump)
Federal Prime Contracts List
From OpenJurist.org. Lists contacts by contract number and vendor name. Includes description and details of contract including effective dates, procurement identifiers and product codes. Does not include pricing/cost.
Legal Bit Stream
Federal Tax materials including cases, regulations, IRS materials & publications and legislative links.
U.S. Congressional Documents Online from Rutgers
This is a full-text archive of selected documents of the United States Congress from the collection of the Rutgers - Camden School of Law. Hearings and Committee Prints included in this online collection date from the 1970's to 1999. Additional hearings and documents harvested from the GPO websites from 2000 forward are also included as well