Study Aids, Strategies & Exam Prep: Criminal Law

Summaries of cases covered in the Criminal Law casebook authored by Dressler (textbook assigned by Profs. Dempsey, Hajin and Ravid for Criminal Law.

Easy to read explanations and hypotheticals. Older editions available in First Floor Study Aids and on 3rd Floor: KF9219.3 .S58

Sample multiple choice and exam essay questions, including model answers.

Print available: https://search.law.villanova.edu/Record/114272
Older editions available in Third Floor library stacks.
Hypotheticals with both correct and incorrect answers explained.

Multiple-choice and short-answer questions and answers.

This book gives law students weekly checklists explaining the skills necessary to successfully navigate their first year of law school. Each chapter provides a checklist of things to do that week, such as briefing cases, going over notes, outlining classes, or doing practice questions. When a new concept is introduced, this book clearly explains the concept and its purpose and provides examples. Instead of merely providing advice, this book lays out a detailed plan for students to follow. It also includes a bank of over 100 short, medium, and long practice questions in six first year subjects.

On textbook list for Profs. Dempsey, Hajdin, and Ravid. Audio book also available. Older print editions available in Study Books First Floor.

Older editions available on 3rd Floor: KF9219.3 .L82
Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality.

Flowcharts, capsule summaries and exam tips.

Required textbook for Prof. Hajdin. Older editions in Study Aids First Floor and on 3rd Floor at KF9219.3 .L34

Reviews core concepts and provides exam tips.

Online self-paced interactive lessons with sample questions on a variety of criminal law topics. Villanova Law students and faculty should contact Lori Corso (lori.corso@law.villanova.edu) to request the access code.

Audio version of popular study aid. 28 hours total duration.

20-30 minute audio clips explaining a variety of criminal law concepts from actus reaus and mens rea to justification and particular types of crimes.

Click "Listen" to open full playlist which includes: Introduction to Criminal Law, Accomplice Liability, Attempt-Mens Rea, Conspiracy, Defenses, Elements of a Crime, Mens Rea Requirements, Judge vs Jury, Manslaughter, Murder and Malice, Elements of Rape and Strict Liability Crimes.

Click Watch Video to view full playlist which includes videos on: Introduction to Criminal Law, Accomplice Liability, Attempt-Mens Rea, Conspiracy, Defenses, Elements of a Crime, Mens Rea Requirements, Judge vs Jury, Manslaughter, Murder and Malice, Elements of Rape and Strict Liability Crimes.

Click "Listen" to open full playlist which includes: Intro to Federal Crimes; Conspiracy, Aiding and Abetting, Corruption, Bribery and Gratuities; Criminal Violations of Constitutional Rights; Delegating Criminal Law Making; Drugs and Punishment; Extortion; Interpreting Federal Criminal Statutes; Jurisdiction and Commerce Power; Mail and Wire Fraud and Sentencing.

Click Watch Video to open full playlist which includes videos on: Intro to Federal Crimes; Conspiracy, Aiding and Abetting, Corruption, Bribery and Gratuities; Criminal Violations of Constitutional Rights; Delegating Criminal Law Making; Drugs and Punishment; Extortion; Interpreting Federal Criminal Statutes; Jurisdiction and Commerce Power; Mail and Wire Fraud and Sentencing.