LibGuides: Writing Competitions for Law Students: Resources for Competitors

Study Resources for Writers

ALWD Citation Manual by Darby Dickerson; Association of Legal Writing Directors
Call Number: KF245 .A49 2006
ISBN: 0735555710
Publication Date: 2005-12-28
In its third edition, the manual that revolutionized legal citation continues to present a single, consistent system of citation for all forms of legal writing. With a clear, attractive, and easy-to-use format, the ALWD Citation Manual is written, designed, and edited by professionals for use throughout their legal careers.
The Bluebook: a Uniform System of Citation by Harvard Law Review Association
Call Number: Reserve: KF245 .U5
ISBN: 9780578666150
Publication Date: 21st Edition
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition by University of University of Chicago Press Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010
ISBN: 0226104206
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today.
Effective Legal Writing by Douglas Abrams
Call Number: KF250 .A27 2016
ISBN: 9781628102352
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
The Elements of Legal Style by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: KF250 .G37 2002
ISBN: 9780195141627
Publication Date: 2002-03-21
With expanded coverage in this new edition, The Elements of Legal Style features additional sections, many more examples, and a thoroughly researched appendix that contains 80 major statements on prose style--what it is and how to attain it. Inspired by Strunk and White's The Elements ofStyle, this book clearly (often wittily) explains the full range of what legal writers need to know: mechanics, word choice, structure, and rhetoric, as well as all the special conventions that legal writers should follow in using headings, defined terms, quotations, and many other devices.
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. White; William Strunk
Call Number: PE1408 .S77 2000
ISBN: 9780205309023
Publication Date: 1999-07-23
You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered.This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.
Examples and Explanations for Legal Writing by Terrill Pollman; Judith M. Stinson; Elizabeth Pollman
Call Number: KF250 .L398 2019
ISBN: 9781454891222
Publication Date: 2019-02-25
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures.
The Lawyer's Essential Guide to Writing by Marie P. Buckley; Ilissa K. Povich
Call Number: KF250 .B83 2011
ISBN: 1616329653
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
The Lawyer's Essential Guide to Writing is a readable, concrete guide to contemporary legal writing. Based on Marie Buckley's years of experience coaching lawyers, this book provides a systematic approach to all forms of written communication, from memoranda and briefs to e-mail and blogs. The book sets forth three principles for powerful writing and shows how to apply those principles to develop a clean and confident style.
Legal Citation in a Nutshell by Larry Teply
Call Number: KF245 .T47 2021
ISBN: 9781647087487
Publication Date: 2021-10-11
Learning legal citation is one of the difficult (and sometimes admittedly annoying) tasks that students new to the law face. This book is designed to ease that task. It initially focuses on conventions that underlie all accepted forms and systems of legal citation. Building on that understanding and an explanation of the process of using citations in legal writing, the book then discusses and illustrates the particular rules of The Bluebook and the ALWD Citation Guide for citing cases, statutes, and all other major legal sources. Its unique appendices provide a useful reference resource to aid students in formulating citations.
Persuasive Legal Writing by Louis J. Sirico
Call Number: KF250 .S54 2015
ISBN: 9781454852049
Publication Date: 2015-01-20
Persuasive Legal Writing offers complete instruction, exercises, and examples to teach students how to frame and assert arguments. Starting with an introduction to classical rhetorical devices and the psychology of persuasion, the authors explore every aspect of persuasive writing, from structuring sentences and paragraphs to writing style, tone, storytelling, audience analysis, the ethics of argument, and citing authorities.
Legal Writing and Analysis in a Nutshell by Lynn Bahrych; Jeanne Merino; Beth McLellan
Call Number: KF250 .S68 2017
ISBN: 9781634602815
Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
Legal Writing Exercises by E. Scott Fruehwald
Call Number: KF250 .F78 2014
ISBN: 1627228926
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Legal writing is specialized writing that has its own terminology, techniques, and forms. However, legal writing adheres to the same fundamentals as other types of writing. This book's purpose is to develop the reader's legal writing skills so that he or she can effectively communicate with others in the language of the law. Each major section starts with an explanation of a core concept of good writing and is followed by exercises.
Legal Writing for the 21st Century by Pennsylvania Bar Institute
Call Number: KF250 .L45 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Law Library--Second Floor
Shakespeare for Lawyers by Margaret Graham Tebo
Call Number: PR3028 .T43 2010
ISBN: 1604428368
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Contains more than 100 funny, sharp, witty, sad, and instructional quotes pulled from Shakespeare's plays and sonnets by a lawyer, for lawyers, and includes instructions on how they might be used in a courtroom, mediation, or elsewhere. The book features an extra section exploring what the Bard had to say about the law and those who practice it.
A Short and Happy Guide to Legal Writing by Deborah Borman
Call Number: K94 .B67 2019
ISBN: 9781634599184
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
The Ultimate Lawyer Quote Book by Malcolm Kushner
Call Number: K58 .K87 2014
ISBN: 1627224130
Publication Date: 2014-09-07
This bank of clever comebacks will delight you or the lawyer in your life. With more than 1,000 quotes from 500 people, The Ultimate Lawyer Quote Book is the wordsmiths treasure chest of quotable gems. Topics include torts, contracts, ethics, litigation, evidence, and argumentation.
Writing for the Legal Audience by Wayne Schiess
Call Number: KF250 .S35 2014
ISBN: 1611633915
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
First published in 2003, Writing for the Legal Audience guides lawyers, paralegals, and law students through sensible, practical advice for writing to a dozen legal audiences, from supervisors to appellate judges and from clients to opposing counsel. Each chapter focuses on a different audience for legal writing and presents three concrete recommendations for satisfying that audience. The recommendations are amply supported with explanations, references to the leading experts, and numerous before-and-after examples.

ABA Competitions

American Bar Association Writing Competitions for Young Lawyers & Law Students.

Other Bar Association Sponsers

American Inns of Court Warren E. Burger Prize

The American Inns of Court Warren E. Burger Prize is a writing competition designed to promote scholarship in the areas of professionalism, ethics, civility, and excellence.

American Planning Association Annual Smith-Babcock-Williams Writing Competition

Open to law students and planning students writing on a question of significance in planning, planning law, land use law, local government law or environmental law.

The National LGBT Bar Michael Greenburg Student Writing Competition

Dedicated to encouraging and recognizing outstanding law student scholarship on the legal issues affecting LGBTQ+ persons.

New York State Bar Association: Writing Competitions

Writing Competitions and other opportunities of interest to law students.

Philadelphia Bar Association Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg "Pursuit of Justice" Legal Writing Competition

The Philadelphia Bar Association recognizes the importance of excellence in legal writing and seeks to award a student enrolled in an ABA-approved Philadelphia-area law school for authoring a top-quality competition submission.

Other Competition Sponsers

Brown Sims Judge John R. Brown Award

The Brown Award honors excellence in legal writing in American law schools.

Constance Baker Motley National Student Writing Competition

The American Constitutional Society welcomes all student papers furthering and promoting a progressive vision of the Constitution, law, and public policy.

National Law Review Writing Competition

The NLR Law Student Writing Competition offers law students the opportunity to submit articles for publication consideration on the NLR Web site. Submissions excepted monthly by 5:00 PM CST on the last day of the month.

American Association of Law Librarians Morris L. Cohen Student Essay Competition

The purpose of the competition is to encourage scholarship in the areas of legal history, rare law books, and legal archives, and to acquaint students with the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) and law librarianship. Essays may be on any topic related to legal history, rare law books, or legal archives. The competition is open to students currently enrolled in accredited graduate programs in library science, law, history, and related fields. Both full- and part-time students are eligible. Complete description and instructions at the link. Submit by May 15, 2024.

Villanova University's 2024-2025 3MT® competition

Three Minute Thesis (3MT) is a competition for master’s and doctoral students to develop and showcase their research communication skills. Developed by The University of Queensland, 3MT cultivates students’ academic, professional, presentation and research communication skills. To be successful, competitors must effectively explain their research in three minutes, using language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.

Other Guides to Writing Competions

AccessLex Institute Law School Scholarship Databank--Writing Competitions

Western New England University School of Law: Law Student Writing Competitions

Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law Legal Writing Competitions