LibGuides: Summer Resources Guide: Researching Employers

Attorneys and Firms

Martindale Online Directory
Search by attorney name, practice area, school or location.

Leadership Connect
View contact information, corporate hierarchies and other information for law and lobbying firms, courts, companies, Congress, federal and state agencies and news/media outlets. Includes information not found in other resources. Can also search by practice area and location.

Faculty or Staff can have an account that allows for greater customization and email newsletters. Please reach out to a law librarian or your library liaison for more information.
Westlaw Profiler - Attorneys & Judges
Offers biographical information along with links to verdicts, court filings, case opinions, secondary sources and other materials involving that attorney or judge. Search by name, firm/court, location, state, practice area or by keyword.
Bloomberg Law Litigation Analytics
Generate a customizable litigation report on companies, law firms, courts, judges, and attorneys. Report categories vary depending on entity searched. Information is pulled from Bloomberg's docket records and reports may be generated going back to 2007. Requires Bloomberg Law account for access.
Westlaw Litigation Analytics
Pulls information from Westlaw's dockets and case databases to produce litigation reports for attorneys, law firms, courts and judges. Also compiles reports related to damages amounts by case type and jurisdiction as well as litigation patterns including different motion rulings, courts where tried, top participants and other information for federal and state courts. Requires Westlaw password for access.
Lexis Litigation Analytics
Pulling information from state and federal dockets (via Lexis's Courtlink service) in combination with Lex Machina, this tool generates litigation reports on courts, judges, attorneys or law firms. Also offers one-to-one comparison option for courts, judges and counsel.

News Resources:

LinkedIn
Need to create an account to access. Depth of profiles varies but can be useful for getting a sense of firm practice areas and relationships (which attorneys/firms is this person linked to?)
The Legal Intelligencer
Online version of the daily Philadelphia legal newspaper. Offers columns on legal issues, case analysis, verdicts, legal notices and job postings. Current week's worth of issues available along with some archived columns from previous months. Contact the Library Reference Desk for sources of older articles. Law faculty can request an individual account to set up email and newsletter alerts by contacting their liaison.
Law360
Law360 is an online legal news outlet providing analysis about legal issues and cases which are organized by practice area and jurisdiction. Case articles offer full docket numbers, case filing dates and other case citation information.
Users can sign up for email newsletters with links to articles on particular practice areas or state jurisdictions. On-campus access is provided to students, staff, faculty and visitors.
Off-campus access is available only to faculty (contact your library liaison to request an account). Students or faculty without an account can search for and access individual Law360 articles on Lexis.

SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Search or browse by author name or topic area for scholarly papers, often posted before accepted for publication. Understand research interests.

X/Twitter Search
Use Peek You or Social Mention database to locate a twitter handle or search posts for the name of individual or company. You may be required to set up a free X account before you can search the platform.

Check out additional resources on the Fact Finding: Research People page.

Companies

Leadership Connect
View contact information, corporate hierarchies and other information for law and lobbying firms, courts, companies, Congress, federal and state agencies and news/media outlets. Includes information not found in other resources. Can also search by practice area and location.

Faculty or Staff can have an account that allows for greater customization and email newsletters. Please reach out to a law librarian or your library liaison for more information.
Bloomberg Law Litigation Analytics
Generate a customizable litigation report on companies, law firms, courts, judges, and attorneys. Report categories vary depending on entity searched. Information is pulled from Bloomberg's docket records and reports may be generated going back to 2007. Requires Bloomberg Law account for access.
Business Leader Directories
Business directories featuring contact information and employment roles for professionals at various companies.

CALI Company Research Lesson
Interactive tutorial reviews available resources for researching companies.

News Resources:

The Legal Intelligencer
Online version of the daily Philadelphia legal newspaper. Offers columns on legal issues, case analysis, verdicts, legal notices and job postings. Current week's worth of issues available along with some archived columns from previous months. Contact the Library Reference Desk for sources of older articles. Law faculty can request an individual account to set up email and newsletter alerts by contacting their liaison.
X/Twitter Search
Use Peek You or Social Mention database to locate a twitter handle or search posts for the name of individual or company. You may be required to set up a free X account before you can search the platform.
Law360
Law360 is an online legal news outlet providing analysis about legal issues and cases which are organized by practice area and jurisdiction. Case articles offer full docket numbers, case filing dates and other case citation information.
Users can sign up for email newsletters with links to articles on particular practice areas or state jurisdictions. On-campus access is provided to students, staff, faculty and visitors.
Off-campus access is available only to faculty. Students or faculty without an account can search for and access individual Law360 articles on Lexis.

See additional profile resources on the Fact Finding: Research Companies and Organizations page.

Judges

For anyone considering applying for a summer externship with a federal judge (which all 1Ls and 2Ls should consider!), it can really help to do some research before you write that cover letter. Knowing more about a judge’s career path, history, and even articles he or she has written can give you invaluable information to customize your cover letter and make your application stand out above the rest.

Below are resources that will help you discover more information:

The Biographical Directory of Federal Judges maintained by the Federal Judicial Center.

Westlaw and Lexis both provide tools with contact information, career history, and in some instances, articles authored by the judges - see the links for Westlaw's Profiler and Lexis's Litigation Analytics below.

Insider's Guide to the Pennsylvania Judiciary and Courts
Call Number: 1st Floor: Reference KFP508.A19 .P4

Publication Date: 2022

Pages 16-32 cover the judges of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. The latest edition is available in the Library reference Collection (near the First Floor Study Aids)

ALM Judicial Profiles
Profiles for federal and state as well as active and inactive judges. Can sort by jurisdiction, status (active, retired etc), political affiliation and method of selection.
Federal Judicial Center’s Biographical Directory of Federal Judges (1789 – present)
Pennsylvania Index of Judges
Provided by the PA Courts website. Select your court of interest and then look for the "judges" link to view profiles for each judge in that court.
Pennsylvania Judicial Profiles
Westlaw Profiler - Attorneys & Judges
Offers biographical information along with links to verdicts, court filings, case opinions, secondary sources and other materials involving that attorney or judge. Search by name, firm/court, location, state, practice area or by keyword.
Bloomberg Law Litigation Analytics
Generate a customizable litigation report on companies, law firms, courts, judges, and attorneys. Report categories vary depending on entity searched. Information is pulled from Bloomberg's docket records and reports may be generated going back to 2007. Requires Bloomberg Law account for access.
Lexis Litigation Analytics
Pulling information from state and federal dockets (via Lexis's Courtlink service) in combination with Lex Machina, this tool generates litigation reports on courts, judges, attorneys or law firms. Also offers one-to-one comparison option for courts, judges and counsel.
Westlaw Litigation Analytics
Pulls information from Westlaw's dockets and case databases to produce litigation reports for attorneys, law firms, courts and judges. Also compiles reports related to damages amounts by case type and jurisdiction as well as litigation patterns including different motion rulings, courts where tried, top participants and other information for federal and state courts. Requires Westlaw password for access.

Government Agencies and Legislatures

Leadership Connect
View contact information, corporate hierarchies and other information for law and lobbying firms, courts, companies, Congress, federal and state agencies and news/media outlets. Includes information not found in other resources. Can also search by practice area and location.

Faculty or Staff can have an account that allows for greater customization and email newsletters. Please reach out to a law librarian or your library liaison for more information.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
List of federal government agencies and departments with contact information. From USA.gov.
United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. Online access back to 1935 edition.
Govtrack PA Senators and Representatives (Federal)
Offers brief bio, links to websites and other bio resources as well as committee memberships, bills sponsored, voting records and an ideology analysis. Independent organization not affiliated with the US government.
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Government Directory
Organized by topic with links to all social media accounts, website and news/press release pages for each agency along with contact information for each.
Members of the PA Senate
Biography, contract information, committee memberships and links to sponsored legislation. Historical archives going back to 2007-2008 session.
Members of the PA House of Representatives
Biographical and contact information (including social media links), committee assignments, links to sponsored legislation

Government Official Directories
Links to directories for many different state legislatures, federal legislative committees and some international legislative bodies.

Summer Resources Guide: Researching Employers

General Resources and Tips

Bloomberg Law Videos:

Rankings Lists:

Researching Attorneys/Firms/Companies Who Work Primarily in Transactional Practice Areas? (and don't have Litigation Profiles)

Check out these resources:

Attorneys and Firms

News Resources:

Companies

News Resources:

Judges

Government Agencies and Legislatures