LibGuides: Real Estate Research Online: Resources by Topic

Commercial Real Estate

Commercial Real Estate Reports
From the National Association of Realtors. Includes quarterly reports on Business Index (openings & closings of business by industry, region or population density), Commercial lending, the commercial real estate market among others.
Commercial Connections
Quarterly newsletter from the National Association of Realtors.
Corporate Real Estate Global Guide
Provided by Practical Law. Search by country name for Q & A and analysis articles. Comparison tool available at the bottom of the page to compare an issue across jurisdictions.
NAIOP: Commercial Real Estate Development Association
Research reports on sustainability, office and mixed use development and financing.
SIOR: Society of Industrial & Office Realtors
Offers a Commercial Real Estate Index and a Professional Report Magazine (past issues available in the archive)
Midatlantic Real Estate Journal (MARJ)
Commercial real estate news for NJ, PA, DE, MD & VA. Published twice monthly. See archives link to browse by date (2011 to present). Also available as a print subscription. Sponsors varies summits and conferences.

Common Interest Communities

Current Issues in Common Interest Communities (2013)
PowerPoint from ABA Real Property section's Legal Education and Uniform Laws Group presentation. The audio file for this presentation can be found here: http://apps.americanbar.org/dch/committee.cfm?com=RP190000
The Moss Report
Technically a blog but is well-respected and collects links to articles and developments in condominium and common interest law rather than providing analysis. Aimed at real estate attorneys and common interest community managers alike.
Uniform Common Interest Ownership Act
From the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

Environmental Issues & Green Building

New Jersey Dept of Environmental Protection Site Remediation Program
Offers forms & guidance libraries; links to administrative regulations (see "Rules" link); site & case tracking reports; search for incidents by address, county or date and search for/verify a remediation professional's license
Environmental Law Institute Research Reports
Includes database of indoor air quality laws, reports on environmental issues specific to types of property/businesses such as child care facilities, land use and energy research reports and articles on brownfield initiatives among others.
Technical Guidance Manual for Sustainable Neighborhoods
Authored by U.S. Green Building Council & Land Use Law Center at Pace Law School
Green Building Municipal Law Databases
From the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law at Columbia University. Offers links to a spreadsheet of all green building municipal laws for both public and private buildings. Also links to New York state and local green building laws.
Model Green Building & Energy Ordinances
From the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law at Columbia University.
EPA Sustainable Practices Portal
Offers resources and guides for building sustainable communities.
EPA Regulatory Links: Land Use & Cleanup
Links to regulations, compliance/enforcement guidance and policies available for each of the major federal environmental statutes.
Comments on Guidance and Regulatory Documents (Climate Change & Green Building)
From the Sabin Center at Columbia. Comments on varies environmental review documents, regulations, guidance documents and provides links to legal briefs on the topic of green building and climate change.

Financing, Foreclosures, Investments, & Bankruptcy

Real Estate Issues in Bankruptcy (2013)
Audio from the ABA Real Property Section's Legal Education and Uniform Laws Group presentation
REMIC & REMIC Failure (2013)
Audio from ABA Section on Real Property Legal Education and Uniform Laws Group presentation
Can/Should Municipalities Take Residential Mortgages?
Audio of the ABA Real Property Section Legal Education and Uniform Laws Group presentation
Commercial Real Estate Lending Survey
National Association of Realtors. April 21, 2016.

Foreclosure Defense: A Practical Litigation Guide by Rebecca Ann Taylor
ISBN: 9781641056410
Publication Date: 2021
Walks you through the basics of loans, the applicable federal laws with a look at different state regulations, what loan modification programs are available, unscrupulous bank practices, affirmative defenses, getting summary judgment dismissed, and everything else you need to know to protect your client's home, as well as what to counsel when you cannot.

Housing

Federal Housing Finance Agency
US Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fannie Mae
Freddie Mac
Housing Affordability Index
From National Association of Realtors
Existing, Pending, and Metropolitan Home Sales Reports
From the National Association of Realtors

Insurance

Recent Developments in Title Insurance/Title Services (2012)
Audio of the ABA Section of Real Property Legal Education and Uniform Laws Group presentation.
Consumer Guide to Title Insurance
From the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

Land Use & Planning

A Fracking Primer For Real Property Lawyers (2013)
Audio from an ABA Real Property Section, Legal Education and Uniform Laws Group presentation
Land Use Law Center for Sustainable Development (Pace Law Center)
Offers links to guidance documents, articles, regulations, and planning documents from several different states and municipalities. Search by state, jurisdiction, type of resource, topic or keyword. Topics range from affordable housing to floodplain regulations to Transit Oriented Development (TOD).
Metropolitan Policy Research (Brookings Institute)
Research reports on economic growth and community planning. Search by keyword or browse list of reports below search box.
Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
Private organization that provides research reports and working papers on land use issues.
Smart Growth America
National organization that researches and advocates for smart, sustainable community growth. Provides guides and research reports as well as several blogs.
Urban Land Institute
Nonprofit that provides geographic area/city-specific reports on housing, planning & design and infrastructure. Publications tab provides access to a resource library and case studies.

Leasing

Sample Commercial Lease Agreement
Provided by the National Paralegal College.
Free Rental Lease Agreements
Variety of lease templates.
Leasing Space in New York City: A Practical Guide for Technology Start-Ups
Prepared by members of the New York Law School Class of 2013.

Real Estate Broker Liability

Risk Management Forms & Documents
From the National Association of REALTORS
Code of Ethics & Professional Standards
From the National Association of REALTORS