Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for Training or Trial Versions?
List-Servs & Chats
Many technology divisions of the state and county bar associations provide dedicated list-servs that are open to bar association or section/division members. Likewise many technology sites provide chat rooms or discussion pages for consumers to post questions and answers about particular products and their functionality.
Make Use of (MUO) Chats
Click on the "Chats" tab to open a list of current technology discussions that you can join to read and/or contribute to spanning a variety of topics including Windows Trouble-shooting, Android Tips, how to stay invisible online and deep web issues.
LAWTECH Email Discussion List
Legal Technology list-serv for the ABA's Law Technology Resource Center. Open to ABA members only. See link at bottom of the page to register.
Discussion forums from the Coalition of Technology Resources for Lawyers. Must register for a free account to post or read conversation threads.
Below is just a sampling of legal technology blogs but more can be found on the ABA's Blawg list for Legal Technology. Many bloggers can also be followed on Twitter for more real-time updates or notifications of new posts.
3 Geeks and a Law
Generally focused on various aspects of large law firm administration with many posts centering on technology.
ABA TECHSHOW Blog
Live blogging during the Tech Show which takes place in March but also posts articles throughout the year.
Apps in Law
Blog provides 3 minute video reviews of apps for lawyers using iphones & ipads.
Attorney at Work--Technology
Blog focused on legal practice. Subscribe to get "one good idea a day" delivered via email. Technology page aggregates blog posts about products and user tips. See the Free Downloads link for pdf papers and reports some of which cover technology issues.
The Droid Lawyer
There are many sites devoted to reviews of iPhone/iPad apps but few, like this one, that cover law apps for Android devices. See the Lawyer Apps tab for app descriptions and cost information.
Blog authored by Rick Georges, a property, trusts & estates attorney practicing in Florida who also lectures on legal technology issues. Covers broad range of issues and posts several times per day. Subscribe to get updates or view the "Archives" link to browse posts by subject.
Jim Calloway's Law Practice Tips
Blog author is the Director of the Oklahoma Bar Association's Management Assistance Program and a former co-chair of the ABA TECHSHOW. Although blog covers all types of practice management issues, many posts center on technology and its application to law. See the Categories list to browse by topic
Covers news and reviews of websites of interest to the legal profession as well as legal technology and social media. Author also pens Web Watch column for Law Technology News.
On the Edges of Science and Law
Blog from the Institute of Science, Law, and Technology at IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law.
Legal Tech News & Newsletters
Above the Law Legal Tech
Controversial legal news site that offers occasional articles on technology trends in legal practice (often with a negative or cautionary stance)
JD Supra Business Advisor (Science & Technology)
Site offers articles and commentary written by practicing attorneys. Link above is to list of topics covering technology issues. Clicking on the topic brings up list of all articles with that topic tag. Follow or subscribe to topic newsletters to stay current.
Legaltech News (ALM)
NOTE: this is a subscription site but can sign up as a "free ALM digital reader" which gives access to 5 articles each month. Experts columns and product/software reviews plus other news.
Law Technology Today
Online newsletter published by the ABA's Legal Technology Resource Center and delivered via email. Covers range of issues and easy to skim and stay current.
LLRX-Law and Technology Resources for Legal Professionals
Articles on a variety of legal technology issues available in the Archives link above. Browse by subject to find reviews of products, tech tips and other content covering everything from security issues to presentation software to technology trends.
Pinhawk Law Technology Daily Digest
Subscribe for free for daily email with links to articles, reviews and other information about legal technology issues aggregated from numerous sites (is aimed at law firm IT departments)
Offers newsletters and blog posts on various technology issues including product reviews and tips. Will need to create a free account to access newsletters. Archive access requires a subscription.
General Technology Newspapers & Newsletters
New York Times Technology News
Reports on the technology sector but also offers a "Personal Technology" section which offers Tech tips, and "App Smart" column which offers app reviews and more. Older articles may require a subscription. Sign up for the "Bits" newsletter to get email notifications of new stories.
Washington Post Technology
Reports on technology generally through two columns: "The Switch" and "Innovations." Sign up for the Switch newsletter. Older articles may require a subscription.
Legal Talk Network Podcasts
Available on iTunes, Youtube and the Legal Talk Network's homepage. Links below are to the Legal Talk Network pages for each series with host bios and links to the videos and their transcripts. View a full list of all Legal Talk Network Podcasts here.
Episodes cover digital forensics, e-discovery, and information security issues.
The Digital Edge
Discusses intersection of law and technology, tips and tools for career success as well as cutting-edge technology news.
Offers "in-depth analysis of the latest advancements in legal technology, in addition to best practices for utilizing existing tools. The duo aims to educate lawyers on how technology can be used to improve services, interactions with clients, and overall workflow."
Law Technology Now
"Key players in the legal technology community join the hosts to highlight the top trends and developments in the legal world"
"Legal 3.Oh! offers insights that can unravel some of the complexities of technology for lawyers."
Planet Lex: The Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Podcast
A "series of conversations about the law, law and society, law and technology, and the future of legal education and practice"
"Keep up with the latest thought leadership from seasoned legal experts, knowledgeable risk and compliance professionals, and dedicated technology and training specialists."
Thinking Like a Lawyer: Private Practice Tools & Tech Roundup 2016
This is a single episode from the Thinking Like a Lawyer podcast series and the link is to the video on Youtube.
Legal Rebels (ABA)
Profiles innovations in legal practice, many of which are based on or related to emerging or re-purposed technologies. Link is to Youtube channel but may also be found on iTunes as "aba journal: legal rebels" or played from the ABA's website at http://www.abajournal.com/legalrebels/
International Legal Technology Association Podcasts
Professional organization for law firm IT personnel but offers discussions of trial presentation technologies, matter management software, litigation project management, in-depth look at specific products such as Office 365, security issues, e-filing and many other similar topics
Evolve Law Podcasts
Mostly interviews with representatives from various legal tech and software companies but some are general discussions. Can subscribe on iTunes as well.
Law Technology Resource Center Legal Training Library
Requires ABA membership. Short 8-15 minute videos offering basic and advanced training on topic such as pdfs, emails, social media and Microsoft Office products.
Law Technology Today Videos
Video archives of past non-CLE webinars offered by this division of the ABA. Unfortunately there's no good way to search the archives but can scroll through list--titles are usually very descriptive. Videos are usually around 30 minutes in length and have covered such topics as law firm accounting, timekeeping, cloud-computing, mobile computing, cyber-security and technology for client retention
Tech Crunch Videos--Apps
Tech Crunch focuses on technology and technology use trends. Offers videos demonstrating and reviewing software and programs. The link above is for videos of apps specifically. Includes apps related to shopping and video games but also image editors, video calling as well as note-taking and organizing apps. Also available on iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/apps/id1055395756
Current Awareness Resources from Vendors
Technology blog from mycase which offers cloud-based legal practice management software for solo and small firms.