LibGuides: Foreign, Comparative & International Law: Scholarly Materials

Student Study Aids

Folsom's Foreign Investment Law Including Investor-State Arbitrations in a Nutshell, 4th by Ralph Folsom
Call Number: Lower Level: K3830 .F64 2025

ISBN: 9798892099448

Publication Date: 2025

Foreign Investment Law including Investor-State Arbitrations in a Nutshell, 4th summarizes the law, practice, regulation and dispute settlement of foreign investment.
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations by New York University School of Law Staff
Call Number: K89 .G84 2009

ISBN: 9780735579798

Publication Date: 2009-03-18

Created by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University, the Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations is the most comprehensive source for international citations rules.
International and Foreign Legal Research in a Nutshell by Marci Hoffman
Call Number: Study Aids First Floor: KZ1234 .H64 2025

ISBN: 9798892097000

Publication Date: 2025

This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist. It offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international and non-US legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties and international case law.
International Business Transactions in a Nutshell by Ralph Folsom; Michael Van Alstine; Michael Ramsey; Matthew Schaefer
Call Number: Lower Level: K3943 .W54 2025

ISBN: 9798887865898

Publication Date: 2025

This work examines the law and practices relevant to the principal forms of international business and commercial transactions.
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell by Reed Benson; Burke Griggs; A. Tarlock
Call Number: Lower Level: K3585.5 .G87 2022

ISBN: 9781647087999

Publication Date: 2021-11-08

This well received book, informed by its interdisciplinary framework, succinctly yet accurately traverses and illuminates the full gamut of international environmental issues, laws and policies challenging the world today.
International Human Rights by Philip Alston; Ryan Goodman
Call Number: K3240 .S74 2013

ISBN: 9780199578726

Publication Date: 2012-09-20

International Human Rights is the definitive work on the subject area providing its reader with a comprehensive analysis of this wide and diverse subject area.
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by Marci Hoffman
Call Number: Third Floor: KZ1234 .H64 2021

ISBN: 9781684675845

Publication Date: 2021

This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist.
Principles of International Business Transactions by Ralph Folsom; Michael Van Alstine; Michael Ramsey
Call Number: KF390.B84 .F65 2022

ISBN: 9781647085667

Publication Date: 2022-01-10

The Fifth Edition of Principles of International Business Transactions provides a more comprehensive examination of the law relevant to the subject matter and detailed citations to caselaw and other supporting authorities.
Public International Law in a Nutshell by Sean Murphy
Call Number: Third Floor: KZ3410 .B84 2025

ISBN: 9798887865508

Publication Date: 2024

This edition of Public International Law in a Nutshell remains a concise yet accurate summary of the field of public international law, covering its basic structure, sources, actors, and procedures, and key subject matter areas, such as human rights, the law of the sea, international environmental law, use of military force, and U.S. foreign relations law.
Treaties and Alliances of the World, 6th ed. by Compiled by N. J. Rengger with John Campbell
Call Number: Third Floor: KZ184 .T73 1995

ISBN: 1860670210

Publication Date: 1995

Legal Dictionaries

Legal Dictionaries: Use legal dictionaries to define unfamiliar legal terms.

Dictionary of International and Comparative Law by James R. Fox
Call Number: Reserve: KZ1161 .F69 2003

ISBN: 0379215012

Publication Date: 2003

An outstanding desktop tool, the Dictionary of International and Comparative Law is ideal for anyone seeking clear, concise definitions of terminology found in the practice of international and comparative law.
Modern Dictionary of International Legal Terms by Ernest A. Lindbergh
Call Number: Lower Level: K54 .L5 1993

ISBN: 0316526339

Publication Date: 1995

Black's Law Dictionary
Black's Law Dictionary is the most practical, comprehensive, scholarly, and authoritative law dictionary ever published-and the most frequently cited legal reference in the world. With clarity and rigor, it defines more than 70,000 law-related words and phrases, recording both their historical and present-day nuances.
Ballentine's Law Dictionary, 3rd Edition
Ballentine's Law Dictionary contains over 40,000 definitions of legal terms.

Legal Encyclopedia

Legal Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia entries dealing with international law can provide a concise introduction to the subject, along with citations to primary and secondary sources of law that illustrate the discussion of various issues. Some suggested works appear below:

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements by Edmund Jan Osmanczyk; Anthony Mango (Editor)
Call Number: Third Floor KZ4968 .O84 2003

ISBN: 0415939208

Publication Date: 2002

Thoroughly rewritten and revised, this new edition provides nearly 6,000 A-Z entries that shed light on this complex institution.
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by J. Craig Barker (Editor); John P. Grant (Editor)
Call Number: Third Floor KZ1161 .P37 2004

ISBN: 0379214490

Publication Date: 2003

The authoritative source for the essentials of international lawFor nearly twenty years, the international legal community has relied on one ambitious yet humble volume as a starting point for legal questions.

International Encyclopedia of Laws: Contracts
Reviews contract principles and gives examples for contracts law outside the US, organized by country name and written by an expert from that particular jurisdiction.
The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law are a comprehensive resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. This definitive reference work contains both the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law.
Wolters Kluwer International Encyclopaedia of Laws
The peer-reviewed monographs provide practical information and valuable insights into both national and international legal frameworks in 11 practice areas, written by over 1,200 leading experts from all over the world. Included practice areas are: Commercial & Economic Law, Competition Law, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations & Partnerships, Environmental Law, Intellectual Property, Intergovernmental Organizations, Medical Law, Private International Law, and Sports Law.

Secondary Legal Sources

Law Reviews and Journals: Research law reviews and journals dealing with international and foreign law matters using legal periodical indexes and databases:

Heinonline: International & Non-U.S. Law Journals

In addition to law journals, Heinonline contains several libraries of interest to international law researchers:

English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)

European Center for Minority Issues.

Foreign & International Law Resources Database

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)

Treaties and Agreements Library

United Nations Law Collection

U.S. Presidential Library

U.S. Statutes at Large

U.S. Supreme Court Library

World Constitutions Illustrated

World Trials Library

All International Law Reviews and Journals
Lexis+ collection of law reviews and journals on international law.
All International Law Treatises, Guides & Jurisprudence
Collection of secondary sources on international law available in Lexis+.
American Law Reports International
ALR International, written by U.S. authors and international contributors, is the only all-inclusive analytical title that covers international topics in depth. It analyzes relevant U.S. and foreign cases from English- and non-English-speaking countries on specific legal issues of international import.
Heinonline--Law Journal Library--International and Non-U.S. Law Journals
Contains journals on the subject of international law and journals published outside of the U.S., including Canadian law reviews and journals arranged by title.
International Journals
International legal journals; search all content or choose from list of selected regions.
Law Reviews & Journals on International Law
Westlaw law reviews and journals, filtered to those on international law.
Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law of the United States
Takes account not only of United States legal sources, but also of other sources that contribute to international law, including international agreements and the pronouncements of international and foreign tribunals, and other materials that constitute practice and contribute to “customary” international law.

Treatises

Treatises: To find treatises on international law and related topics, use the Law Library’s (or another library’s) online public access catalog (OPAC), or use the WORLDCAT database available to Villanova students through Falvey Library, the main campus library (see the “Databases A-Z” link on the Falvey Library website). Some suggested material is listed below:

Customary International Law in Times of Fundamental Change by Michael P. Scharf
Call Number: KZ1277 .S33 2013

ISBN: 9781107610323

Publication Date: 2013-05-31

In periods of fundamental change, whether by technological advances, the commission of new forms of crimes against humanity, or the development of new means of warfare or terrorism, customary international law may form much more rapidly and with less state practice than is normally the case to keep up with the pace of developments.
The Evolving Dimensions of International Law by John F. Murphy
Call Number: KZ3410 .M868 2010

ISBN: 9780521709231

Publication Date: 2010-03-22

This book examines recent developments in sources of public international law, such as treaties and custom operating among nations in their mutual relations, as well as developments in some of the primary rules of law international institutions created by these processes.
International Commercial Arbitration and the Arbitrator's Contract by Emilia Onyema
Call Number: K2400 .O59 2010

ISBN: 9780415492782

Publication Date: 2010-03-09

This book examines the formation, nature and effect of the arbitrators' contract, addressing topics such as the appointment, challenge, removal and duties and rights of arbitrators, disputing parties and arbitration institutions.
International Environmental Law and Policy for the 21st Century by Ved Nanda; George (Rock) Pring
Call Number: K3585 .N36 2013

ISBN: 9789004242869

Publication Date: 2012-10-12

Emphasizing the environmental, social, and human damage caused by non-sustainable development, International Environmental Law and Policy for the 21st Century, Second Revised Edition by Nanda and Pring, provides readers with an incisive and integrated approach to the political, economic, scientific, and technological realities and challenges facing international environmental law and policy today.
The Laws of War by W. Michael Reisman
Call Number: KZ6383 .L39 1994

ISBN: 067973712X

Publication Date: 1994-06-28

From the Nuremberg trials to the grisly campaign of "ethnic cleansing" in today's Bosnia, the world recognizes that certain actions are morally and legally unacceptable even in the midst of war. This book features extensive excerpts from treaties and charters that define the proper treatment of civilians, detainees, and POWs during wartime.
The Sources of International Law by Hugh Thirlway
Call Number: KZ1279 .T45 2019

ISBN: 9780198841821

Publication Date: 2019-05-28

This book provides an insightful inquiry into all the recognized, or asserted, sources of international law.

Journals

Foreign Affairs Magazine
Journal provided by The Council on Foreign Relations on international politics and other issues. Off-campus access may require sign-in with MyNova credentials.
Foreign Policy
Foreign Policy is the award-winning, bimonthly magazine of global politics, economics, and ideas. Our mission is to explain how the world works - in particular, how the process of global integration is reshaping nations, institutions, cultures, and, more fundamentally, our daily lives. Off-campus access may require sign-in with MyNova credentials.