Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foreign, Comparative & International Law: International Organizations of the Americas

The Organization of American States

The Organization of American States (OAS), founded in 1948, is composed of all 35 independent states in the Americas, and holds itself to be "the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the [Western] Hemisphere."  The Organization's home page is linked above; below are links to various resources provided by the Organization that may be of interest to researchers of International Law issues in the Americas:

OAS Charter

OAS Columbus Memorial Library

OAS General Assembly

OAS Inter-American Democratic Charter

OAS Permanent Council:  Resolutions and Declarations

OAS Secretariat for Legal Affairs:

Department of International Law

Department of Legal Cooperation

Hemispheric Network for Legal Cooperation on Criminal Matters

Inter-American Cooperation Portal on Cyber-Crime

Anti-Corruption Portal of the Americas (MESICIC)

Multilateral Treaties and Bilateral Agreements

Other International Organizations of the Americas

Many other international and intergovernmental organizations of American states exist to promote international cooperation in various political, social, trade and other activities.  A selection of such bodies appear below; others may be found using Internet search engines or by reference in other sources:

Alianza Bolivariana para los Pueblos de Nuestra América (ALBA)

Andean Community

Association of Carribean States (ACS-AEC)

Carribean Community (CARICOM)

Central American Integration System

Mercado Común del Sur (Mercosur)

Organisation of Eastern Carribean States (OECS)