LibGuides: Insurance Law: General

Treatises

Couch on Insurance (Westlaw)
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1159.5 .C832

Publication Date: Print updated through 2001, see Westlaw for current

17-volume set covering substantive and procedural law and the state and federal levels. Formerly titled "Couch Cyclopedia of Insurance Law"
Insurance Claims and Disputes: Representation of Insurance Companies and Insureds (Westlaw) by Allan D. Windt
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1164 .W56 2007

Publication Date: Updated through current year
Insurance Coverage Litigation by Eugene R. Anderson; Jordan S. Stanzler; Lorelie S. Masters
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF 1189.5 .A962 2000

ISBN: 073551173X

Publication Date: Print updated through 2007
Allocation of Losses in Complex Insurance Coverage Claims (Westlaw)
Updated annually. Appendix includes 50 state surveys of allocation decisions.
New Appleman Library Edition (Appleman on Insurance) (Lexis)
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF 1164 .A76

Publication Date: Print only updated through 2009--see Lexis for current edition
General Liability Insurance Coverage (Lexis Advance) by Matthew Bender
Publication Date: 2nd Edition
Law & Practice of Insurance Coverage Litigation (Westlaw) by ABA
Publication Date: Current

Publication of the ABA Tort Trial & Insurance Practice section
Stempel on Insurance Contracts by Jeffrey W. Stempel
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1164 .S744 2006

ISBN: 0735554366

Publication Date: 2005

2-volume set published by Aspen
Freedman's Richards on the Law of Insurance by Lawyer's Cooperative Publishing
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF1164 .R5 1990

Publication Date: 1990

Periodicals

Insurance Litigation Reporter (Westlaw) by West Publishing
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1159 .In8

Publication Date: Print updated through 2009, Current edition on WestlawNext

Coverage from 1998 to present.
Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Law Journal (Westlaw) by American Bar Association
Call Number: Lower Level: K6 .O84

Publication Date: 2003 - present; also on Westlaw
Connecticut Insurance Law Journal (Westlaw & Lexis Advance) by Connecticut Insurance Law Journal Association
Call Number: Lower Level: K3 .O84

Publication Date: 1995 - 2013; current issues on Westlaw & Lexis Advance
Journal of Insurance Regulation (Lexis Advance) by National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Call Number: Lower Level: K10.O8346

Publication Date: 1985-2013; current issues on Lexis Advance
Federation of Insurance & Corporate Counsel Quarterly
Call Number: Lower Level: K6 .E396

Publication Date: 1973 - 2001
Journal of Insurance Coverage: JIC by Aspen Law Publishers
Call Number: Lower Level: K10 .O8344

Publication Date: 1998 - 2001
Journal of American Insurance by American Mutual Alliance
Call Number: Lower Level: K10 .O8225

Publication Date: 1963 - 1981
The Forum by ABA Section of Insurance, Negligence and Compensation Law
Call Number: Lower Level: K6 .O84

Publication Date: 1965 - 1985
Insurance Law Reports [Great Britain]
Call Number: Lower Level, Compact Shelving: KD1859.3 .I5

Publication Date: 1982 - 1984
The Insurance Law Journal by Commerce Clearing House (CCH)
Call Number: Lower Level: K9 .N77

Publication Date: 1871 - 1934; 1949 - 1980

Books & Monographs

Principles of the Law of Liability Insurance (Westlaw) by American Law Institute
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1215 .A914 2014

Publication Date: Print: 2013 (tentative draft No. 1)

Westlaw current through tentative draft No. 2 (March 26, 2014)
Handbook on Insurance Coverage Disputes by Barry R. Ostrager
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF1164 .O85

ISBN: 0735575568

Publication Date: 2008
Embracing Risk: The Changing Culture of Insurance and Responsibility by Tom Baker (Editor); Jonathan Simon (Editor)
Call Number: Lower Level: HM1101 .E43 2002

ISBN: 0226035190

Publication Date: 2002
The Liability Century by Kenneth S. Abraham
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1250 .A714 2008

ISBN: 067402768X

Publication Date: 2008
Excess Liability: the Law of Extra-Contractual Liability of Insurers by Pat Magarick
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1250 .M27

ISBN: 0876326041

Publication Date: 1989
Distributing Risk by Kenneth S. Abraham
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF1164 .A82 1986

ISBN: 0300034601

Publication Date: 1986
The Law of Insurance by Irwin Taylor
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF 1164.6 T21 1983

Publication Date: 1983
Settled Out of Court: the Social Process of Insurance Claims Adjustment by H. Laurence Ross
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP196. A8Sp69 1970

ISBN: 0202301575

Publication Date: 1970

Insurance Case Law

Insurance Law Cases (Westlaw)
All 50 states and federal courts. Coverage years vary by jurisdiction
Insurance Litigation Coverage (Westlaw) by CCH
Covers Personal & Commercial Liability & Life, Health & Accident reporters
Insurance Law Reports: Life, Health & Accident (Westlaw) by CCH
Insurance Decisions by R.M. Chandor
Call Number: Lower Level: K9 .N76

Publication Date: 1936 - 1943
Fire and Casualty Cases, Other than Automobile by Commerce Clearing House (CCH)
Call Number: Lower Level, Compact Shelving: KF1155 .A2 F57

Publication Date: 1939 - 1945

Forms, Briefs, Sample Documents & Jury Instructions

Couch on Insurance 3d Forms (Westlaw)
Oden Insurance Forms (Westlaw)
Forms from State Insurance Departments, state websites and the NAIC. Includes a search template.
ISO Policy Forms (Lexis Advance)
Standard contracts and endorsements for commercial and personal lines of insurance. Produced by the Insurance Services Office, Inc.
NAIC Checklists
Insurance Defense Form Finder (Westlaw)
Insurance forms, clauses & checklists from a variety of Westlaw state and national form resources.
Dealmaker Documents (Bloomberg)
Search by document type, transaction type, governing law (jurisdiction), filing date, party or keyword.
Insurance Law Briefs (Westlaw)
Insurance case briefs filed in the US Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and some state courts from 1990 to present.
ABA Model Jury Instructions for Surety Cases (Westlaw)

Practice Guides

Fundamentals of Insurance Regulation: The Rules and the Rationale by Raymond A. Guenter; Elisabeth Ditomassi
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF1167 .G84 2017

ISBN: 1634256883

Publication Date: 2018
General Liability Insurance Coverage: Key Issues in Each State by Randy Maniloff; Jeffrey Stempel
Call Number: Class Reserve: KF1215 .M36 2015

ISBN: 1506140203

Publication Date: 2015
Insurance Coverage Disputes (Lexis Advance) by Law Journal Press
Publication Date: Current edition
Insurance Law by Margaret C. Jasper
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1164.6 .J37 1998

ISBN: 0379113309

Publication Date: 1998

Aimed at non-lawyers
Insurer's Duty to Defend (Westlaw) by DRI-The Voice of the Defense Bar
Publication Date: 2005
Interpretation of Insurance Contracts: Law and Strategy for Insurers and Policyholders by Little Brown
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1164 .S73 1994

Publication Date: Updated through 1998
An Introduction to Liability Claims Adjusting by Corydon T. Johns
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1215 .J62 1982

ISBN: 0872183203

Publication Date: 1982

Older book but still relied upon by claims adjusters today.
Litigating the Coverage Claim: Denial of Coverage & Duty to Defend by ABA Tort & Insurance
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1164 .A2 L57 1992

ISBN: 0897077792

Publication Date: 1992
Litigating the Coverage Claim II: Pretrial Procedures and Strategies for Insurers, Insureds, and Their Counsel by ABA Tort & Insurance Section
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF 1164 .A2 L58 1993

ISBN: 0897078209

Publication Date: 1993
Miller's Standard Insurance Policies Annotated by Thomson West
Call Number: On Reserve: KF1160 .M54 2011

Publication Date: Updated through present

Index Only is available on Westlaw--see link above. Text of guide is only available in print.
New Appleman Insurance Law and Practice Guide (Lexis Advance) by Jeffrey E. Thomas; Leo P. Martinez; Marc S. Mayerson; Douglas R. Richmond
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF 1164 .N49

Publication Date: Print only updated through 2008; Current edition on Lexis Advance
Practical Tools for Handling Insurance Cases (Westlaw) by Plitt
Publication Date: Current edition
Recurring Issues in Insurance Disputes: A Guide for Insurers and Insureds by David L. Leitner; American Bar Association, Tort and Insurance Practice Section Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1215 .R42 1996

ISBN: 1570732639

Publication Date: 1996

CLE & Conference Materials

Insurance Industry and Financial Services Litigation by ALI-ABA Course of Study Materials
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1030 .I6 F56

Publication Date: 2006 - 2008 Conferences

Hornbooks, Nutshells & Workbooks

Understanding Insurance Law by Robert H. Jerry; Douglas R. Richmond
Call Number: Hornbook Reserve

Publication Date: 2012

NOTE: Course Reserves and Hornbook Reserve items are available at the Library Circulation Desk.

Insurance Law in a Nutshell by John Dobbyn
Call Number: Hornbook Reserve

ISBN: 0314263756

Publication Date: 2016
Computer-aided and Workbook Exercises on Insurance Law by West Publishing
Call Number: 2nd Fl: KF1164.3 .K44 1990

Publication Date: 1990
Insurance Law: a Guide to Fundamental Principles, Legal Doctrines, and Commercial Practices by Robert E. Keeton; Alan I. Widiss
Call Number: Hornbook Reserve

ISBN: 031462970X

Publication Date: 1988

Pennsylvania Resources

Annual Insurance Practice Institute by PBI
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP185 .A75 I5

Publication Date: 2000 & 2001
Fundamentals of Insurance Law by PBI
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP185 .Z9 F86 2007

Publication Date: 2007
Insurance Department Hearings by PBI
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP185. A75 .I57 2007

Publication Date: 2007
Insurance Fraud by PBI
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP568 .I57 I5 2003

Publication Date: 2003
Insurance Issues for the General Practitioner by PBI
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP185 .A75 I57 1995

Publication Date: 1995
Insurance Law for Insurance Lawyers by PBI
Call Number: 2nd Floor: KF1164.85 .I583 2018

Publication Date: 2018
Insurance Practice and Litigation by PBI
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP185 .A75 P39 1990

Publication Date: 1990
Norton on Insurance Coverage in Pennsylvania by PBI
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP185 .N67 2006

Publication Date: 2006
Pennsylvania Related Laws to the Insurance Laws by NILS Publishing
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP185 .A3 .P47 1995

Publication Date: 1995-2003
Taking on the Big Guns: Bringing and Winning Lawsuits Against Insurance Companies by PBI
Call Number: 3rd Fl: KFP198 .C6 E24 2013

Publication Date: 2013

Online Databases

Allocation of Losses in Complex Insurance Coverage Claims (Westlaw)

Insurance Statutes, Regulations & Court Rules

Insurance Law Regulations (Westlaw)
Federal Insurance Statutes (Westlaw)
Pennsylvania Insurance Bulletins (Westlaw)
Bulletins and notices issued by the PA Department of Insurance from 1963 to present.
50 State Surveys (Westlaw)
Choose to compare by type of primary law (regulations or statutes) or by topic. Select Insurance Law. Must conduct keyword search to view options (there is no table of contents/index)