Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medical Articles Not in Falvey Databases
Identified a medical journal article that's of interest to you but can't find it in Falvey's catalog? Submit an inter-library loan request form and the Law Library will request it from another library.
Online Treatises & Handbooks
Law and Medicine Periodicals
American Journal of Law and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full-text available up to most recent three years (newer issues are still indexed)
Health Matrix: Journal of Law-Medicine This link opens in a new window
Published by Case Western Reserve University School of Law
Issues in Law & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Periodical published several times per year by National Legal Center for the Medically Dependent and Disabled, Inc.; Horatio R. Storer Foundation, Inc.; and American Academy of Medical Ethics, Inc.
Journal of Law, Medicine and Ethics This link opens in a new window
Full-text available up to most recent three years (newer issues are indexed)
Journal of Legal Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full-text available up through 4 years ago (more recent articles are indexed but not lined)
Medical Journal Articles Databases
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link takes the user through the Villanova proxy server to the National Library of Medicine's PubMed website. By going through the proxy server, the user will have access to Villanova's electronic journal subscriptions for retrieving the full text of articles they identify using the PubMed database.
PsychINFO This link opens in a new window
PsychINFO permits the user to search for articles concerning many aspects of mental health from a wide range of publications. It is available to Villanova students, faculty and staff.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct permits the user to search for articles concerning many areas a science including biomedicine. It is available to Villanova students, faculty, and staff.
Scopus permits users to search for scientific literature concerning a wide range of topics including health and medicine. It is available to Villanova students, faculty, and staff.
Medicine and Health Sciences Commons This link opens in a new window
Part of the Digital Commons open access network. Searchable by keyword, browse by subtopic or use additional filters to limit by date.
Falvey Journal Finder This link opens in a new window
Search by Journal Title to see which platform/database contains that title. Note that this Journal Finder is limited to databases available to the entire Villanova community. It does not include Law School specific databases such as Westlaw and Lexis Advance.
Medical Tools, Tests, and Symptom Checkers
Health Statistics Sources
State Health Facts This link opens in a new window
This database is maintained by the Kaiser Family Foundation.
The Community Health Database
The central component of the database is the Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Surveys that provide timely information on the residents, children and adults who live in Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties. The survey targets key information about health status, personal health behaviors and access to and utilization of area health services. Data available at the census tract, ZIP code, county and regional level. It is available to Villanova students, Faculty, and staff.
Philadelphia Vital Statistics Report
This database is maintained by the City government. it provides data about births and deaths in the City.
NEJM Int'l Health Measures Interactive Graphing Tool
This tool, provided by the New England Journal of Medicine, permits users to select certain measures for comparing international health systems.
Medical Malpractice Resources