LibGuides: Health & Medical Information : Medical Reference Sources

General Sources -- Print

Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Call Number: Reference R121 .S74

Publication Date: 2000

See Westlaw for updated copy
Interpreting the Medical Literature by Stephen H. Gehlbach
Publication Date: 2006
How to Read a Paper: the basics of evidence -based medicine by Trisha Greenhalgh
Publication Date: 2006
DSM-5-TR
Call Number: Reference RC455 .A44

The fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR) is the standard reference source for diagnosing mental illness. The latest edition is kept in the Reference collection. Earlier editions can be found on the third floor of the Library. Falvey Library provides online access as well.
Physicians' Desk Reference
Call Number: Reference RS75 .P56

Publication Date: 2017

The book contains the product information that the Food and Drug Administration requires manufacturers to supply when they distribute prescription medication in the United States. The print is very small and it doesn't provide many references to medical literature. But, it does contain color images of many tablets, capsules, inhalers, injectable vials and other dosage forms. The latest edition is kept in the Library Reference collection. Earlier editions can be found on the third floor of the Library. Complete free registration for online access.

General Sources -- Online

Stedman's Medical Dictionary
This link will take the user to the Westlaw search screen for the dictionary. No Index or Table of Contents is provided--keyword search only
ArchieMD 3D Medical Images
From the publisher: "offers scientifically accurate animated and interactive health and science content designed to educate students, health professionals and general consumers alike." Browse illustrations by bodily system, condition, or procedure. Published in 2013 and no longer updated.

Medical Reference Sources
This link takes the user to a list of electronic medical reference sources available to Villanova students, faculty and staff.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
This link takes the user to the electronic version of the encyclopedia. Use the "within publication" search box on the left side to find information about a medical topic.
Medline Plus
Consumer-oriented information provided by the National Institutes of Health. This site includes graphics and tutorials related to a wide range of medical conditions and procedures.
My Health Finder
HealthFinder.gov is maintained by the National Institutes of Health. It is a specialty search engine that gathers results from sources such as universities and government agencies.

HON Foundation (Health on the Net)
This site explains how the HON Foundation evaluates health information websites for integrity and reliability.
List of Core Medical Books & Journals
This link takes the user to the 2001 edition of the Brandon/Hill selected list of medical books and journals for the small medical library. The list is available free-of-charge in the National Library of Medicine's PubMed Central digital repository.

NIH Library of Medicine
Free access to over 9,000 titles--books, databases and other medical resources.

Medical Resources for Attorneys

Attorneys Medical Advisor
Provides up-to-date information on normal anatomy and physiology; birth, growth, and aging; diagnostic procedures; treatment procedures; traumatic injuries; and mental and physical disorders. It also covers diagnosis using imaging, lab tests, biopsies, and other techniques; and treatments involving surgery, drugs, radiation, and other procedures. Easy to read descriptions of medical disorders, injuries and other issues. Useful for understanding injuries, damages associated with those injuries or conditions and expert reports related to those medical issues.
Attorneys Medical Deskbook
From publisher: Provides medical background for cases involving personal injury, medical malpractice, wrongful death, and workers' compensation. Covers drugs, testing, medical abbreviations and definitions, how to organize medical records for case prep and more. Useful for cases involving personal injury, medical malpractice, wrongful death, and workers' compensation. Discusses uses and side affects of drugs, defines medical terms and abbreviations, explains medical and diagnostic tests and imaging and offers guidance for interpreting medical records.
Attorneys Medical Deskbook: Medical Abbreviations
Contains over 5000 definitions from the Attorneys Medical Deskbook--search by keyword or phrase to help decipher medical records.
Attorneys Textbook of Medicine
Chapters cover injuries, disease as well as testing and diagnostics.
Jury Instructions on Medical Issues - INDEX
Sample jury instructions covering more than 200 medical issues including experimentation on patient, childbirth, anesthesiology, pre-existing conditions, and allergies.
Lawyers' Guide to Medical Proof
Walks through medical testing, diagnostics and treatment process from the point of view of a physician but written for attorneys.
Lawyers' Guide to Medical Proof-Index
Use this alphabetical index to browse for topics covered in the Lawyers' Guide to Medical Proof treatise.
Lawyers' Medical Cyclopedia
From the publisher: Offers in-depth information and caselaw on hundreds of medical and surgical specialties. It includes an extensive bibliography of references to medical journals, law review articles, and American Law Reports, as well as summaries of state and federal appellate opinions. Written by physicians skilled at translating complex anatomy, physiology, and medical treatment into clear language that is easy for you to understand, it provides quick, accurate insight into medical issues. Updated regularly.
Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations
Organized alphabetically with full color photos of various diseases, conditions, medical devices and more. Also searchable by keyword.
ABA MEDICAL-LEGAL GUIDES : THE SPINE FOR LAWYERS
From the publisher: Injuries involving the spine are the most common compensation claims in the United States. ABA Medical-Legal Guides: The Spine for Lawyers is designed to help practitioners, judges and insurance professionals understand the multifaceted medical and legal issues in a claim involving this part of the human anatomy. Contains more than 200 illustrations and photos.

Pennsylvania Bar Institute Books

Anatomy for Lawyers: a primer
Publication Date: 2022
Law and Human Anatomy 101 by Pennsylvania Bar Institute
Publication Date: 2019
Anatomy and Physiology for Legal Professionals by Pennsylvania Bar Institute
Publication Date: 2019
Injuries to the Brain and Spine: a Medical and Legal Primer by Pennsylvania Bar Institute
Publication Date: 2019
Diagnostic Medicine: a Lawyer's Guide to How Diagnoses are Made
Publication Date: 2013
Anatomy, Injuries, and Surgeries
Publication Date: 2012
Anatomy for Lawyers: Mastering Medical Records
Publication Date: 2009