Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Sources -- Print
Call Number: Reference RC455 .A44
Publication Date: 2013
The fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) is the standard reference source for diagnosing mental illness. The latest edition is kept in the Reference collection. Earlier editions can be found on the third floor of the Library.
Physicians' Desk Reference
Call Number: Reference RS75 .P56
Publication Date: 2017
The book contains the product information that the Food and Drug Administration requires manufacturers to supply when they distribute prescription medication in the United States. The print is very small and it doesn't provide many references to medical literature. But, it does contain color images of many tablets, capsules, inhalers, injectable vials and other dosage forms. The latest edition is kept in teh Library Reference collection. Earlier editions can be found on the third floor of the Library.
General Sources -- Online
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
This link will take the user to the Westlaw search screen for the dictionary. No Index or Table of Contents is provided--keyword search only
Medical Reference Sources
This link takes the user to a list of electronic medical reference sources available to Villanova students, faculty and staff.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
This link takes the user to the electronic version of the encyclopedia. Use the "within publication" search box on the left side to find information about a medical topic.
Consumer-oriented information provided by the National Institutes of Health. This site includes graphics and tutorials related to a wide range of medical conditions and procedures.
Mayo Clinic -- Disease & Treatment Information
This site provides information about the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of a wide range of diseases and conditions.
WebMD -- Medical Tests & Tools This link opens in a new window
This site provides information about numerous medical tests and procedures: how to prepare, what each procedure involves, and what the results mean.
WebMD Symptom Checker This link opens in a new window
Interactive tool that allows you to focus on different areas of the body and select symptoms and it returns matching potential diagnoses.
Health FInder This link opens in a new window
HealthFinder.gov is maintained by the National Institutes of Health. It is a specialty search engine that gathers results from sources such as universities and government agencies.
HON Foundation (Health on the Net)
This site explains how the HON Foundation evaluates health information websites for integrity and reliability.
List of Core Medical Books & Journals
This link takes the user to the 2001 edition of the Brandon/Hill selected list of medical books and journals for the small medical library. The list is available free-of-charge in the National Library of Medicine's PubMed Central digital repository.
Medical Resources for Attorneys
Attorneys Medical Advisor This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date information on normal anatomy and physiology; birth, growth, and aging; diagnostic procedures; treatment procedures; traumatic injuries; and mental and physical disorders. It also covers diagnosis using imaging, lab tests, biopsies, and other techniques; and treatments involving surgery, drugs, radiation, and other procedures.
Attorneys Textbook of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Chapters cover injuries, disease as well as testing and diagnostics.
Attorneys Medical Deskbook This link opens in a new window
From publisher: Provides medical background for cases involving personal injury, medical malpractice, wrongful death, and workers' compensation. Covers drugs, testing, medical abbreviations and definitions, how to organize medical records for case prep and more.
Medical Records Review This link opens in a new window
From publisher: combines basic medical information, an understanding of the form and content of medical records, and record summarization technique for practical, step-by-step guidance and understanding of these often cloudy documents.
Lawyers' Guide to Medical Proof This link opens in a new window
Walks through medical testing, diagnostics and treatment process from the point of view of a physician but written for attorneys.
Pennsylvania Bar Institute Books