LibGuides: Entrepreneurship &amp; Business Startups: Pennsylvania Resources

Legal Encyclopedias

Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
For each major issue discussed, Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia provides "black letter" law summaries that precede more in-depth analysis of case law, statutes, and rules, with proper citations to other authority. Concise yet comprehensive, Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia presents the rules of Pennsylvania law and their exceptions, qualifications, limitations, and extensions.
Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence This link opens in a new window
Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence 2d provides concise text of civil and criminal substantive law, and discussion of relevant statutes, rules, regulations, taxation law, landmark state cases, and related federal cases.
The print version of this title is available in the Clinic Library

Case Law:

Pennsylvania State Cases Combined
Covers the following courts & years: PA Supreme Court (1754 to present), Superior Court (1895 to present) and some unpublished Superior Court opinions (2013 to present), Commonwealth Court (1971 to present) and some unpublished decisions, Court of Judicial Discipline cases (1994 to present) and some PA Court of Common Pleas County Decisions/Trial Court Orders (dates vary by county).

Statutes:

Pennnsylvania Statutes Annotated
Link contains two databases: Pennsylvania Statutes and Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes

Court Rules:

Pennsylvania Local, State & Federal Court Rules
Includes: Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules of Evidence and Rules of Professional Conduct among others.

Regulations & Administrative Materials:

Pennsylvania Administrative Code
Also includes Pennsylvania court rules (see Titles 201 to 246)
Pennsylvania Administrative Materials
Includes items from the following agencies (can limit search to a specific agency): Commonwealth of PA Board of Claims, PA Attorney General Opinions, PA Board of Finance and Revenue, PA Commonwealth Court Tax Decisions, PA Environmental Hearing Board Decisions, PA Office of Open Records Final Determinations, PA Utility Commission Decisions, PA Securities Commission Decisions, PA Workers' Compensation Appeal Board and Decisions, PA Department of Banking Releases, Pennsylvania Market Conduct Examinations, Pennsylvania Public Employment Decisions.

Ordinances:

Pennsylvania Municipal Codes
Covers the following municipalities: Bensalem, Kennett Square, Kennett Township, London Grove Township, Marshall Township (Allegheny Co.), Pittsburgh, South Hanover, Southampton and Wilkes-Barre.

Pennsylvania Causes of Action
Lays out elements of actions and is helpful for identifying potential claims and issues
LexisNexis Practice Guide: Pennsylvania Estate Planning
See Chapter 12 on Business Succession Planning
PA Commercial Litigation
Includes an extensive index for easier searching
Pennsylvania Tax Handbook
Includes: sales and use tax, corporate income, capital stock, capital loans, taxation of pass through entities, real estate taxes and many other topics.

Dunlap-Hanna Pennsylvania Forms
Annotated and organized by topic.
Pennsylvania Transaction Guide--Legal Forms
See Unit 1, Business Entities and Unit 4, Real Estate Transactions. Also has "Transactions in Turbulent Times" section covering financing and also reorganization and dissolution.