Canadian Law : Sources of Canadian Law

Entry for Canada in "Foreign Law Guide: Foreign Law Guide features relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources.

Official website. Global Affairs Canada, under the leadership of the Minister of Foreign Affairs; the Minister of International Trade, Export Promotion, Small Business and Economic Development; and the Minister of International Development, is responsible for advancing Canada’s international relations, including: Developing and implementing foreign policy; fostering the development of international law, international trade and commerce; providing international assistance (encompassing humanitarian, development, and peace and security); providing consular services for Canadians; and, overseeing the Government of Canada’s global network of missions abroad.

Canadian legal materials page in Lexis+.

Canadian legal material page in Westlaw.

Contains all available case sources for Canada, including administrative boards and tribunals.

Cases and Decisions includes:
Court Cases: Reported and unreported decisions, judgments and orders made available on Westlaw Canada. Includes all Thomson Reuters reported decisions (Carswell /Canada Law Book) and includes all other reported decisions from 1977 forward.
Board and Tribunal Decisions: Reported and unreported decisions of all board, tribunal and arbitration decisions made available on Westlaw Canada Includes all Thomson Reuters reported decisions (Carswell /Canada Law Book) and includes all other reported decisions from 1997 forward. Selective coverage from 1906.
Coverage varies by individual court, board, or tribunal.

HeinOnline's Canada Supreme Court Reports contains the official bilingual series published under authority of the Supreme Court Act. This collection includes more than 10,000 cases which include background information, statutes and regulations, authors cited, analysis and the decision.

Search resource for Supreme Court of Canada decisions.

Contains pleadings, motions, Facta/Briefs--Appeals, Facta/Briefs--Motions/Applications, and Insolvency Court filings.

Official website contains a search engine for locating court files including dockets, hearings, etc.

Last updated December 2021.

All Canadian Legislation, including statutes, regulations, and rules.

Contains all available Statutes & Legislation sources for Canada, including court rules and administrative regulations by jurisdiction.

HeinOnline's Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes) digital collection contains all historical and current Acts of the Parliaments of Canada in an online, fully-searchable format.

Database includes complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes of the Revised Statutes of Canada in more than 63,000 pages.

The Canada Corporations Law Reporter covers all aspects of law and practice surrounding the life-cycle and events of a federally incorporated company. All corporate compliance and practice issues are addressed in our comprehensive expert commentary. The Reporter also contains recent case law, relevant statutes and regulations, plus forms, precedents, government policies, and other information to keep the corporation in conformance to laws and using best practices. Key topics include: - Incorporation - Corporate Finance - Directors and Officers - Corporate Governance - Shareholders - Financial Disclosure - Competition Law - Investigation and Remedies - Fundamental Changes - Bankruptcy and Insolvency - Liquidation and Dissolution - Licensing and Registration - Not-for-profit Corporations - Foreign Investment

The Alberta Corporations Law Guide provides comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of Alberta company law and includes all relevant Acts and Regulations, decisions, rulings, and releases affecting the formation of companies and societies and their legal operation under Alberta law. Topics covered include: - Incorporation - Corporate Finance - Directors and Officers - Shareholders - Borrowing and Investments - Reorganizations and Takeovers - Investigation, Remedies, Offences, and Penalties - Continuance - Insider trading and Financial Disclosure - Extra-provincial Corporations - Liquidation and Dissolution

The British Columbia Corporations Law Guide provides comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of British Columbia company law and includes all relevant Acts and Regulations, decisions, rulings, and releases affecting the formation of companies and societies and their legal operation under British Columbia law. Topics covered include: - Incorporation and Organization - Company Alterations - Directors and Officers - Corporate Finance - Shareholders' Meetings and Agreements - Records and Returns - Audits and Financial Statements - Liquidation, Dissolution and Restoration - Shareholders' Remedies - Extra-Provincial Corporations - Societies

The Ontario Corporations Law Guide provides you with relevant commentary and legislation on corporate law topics. The Guide helps speed up your work with Tables of Concordance, illustrative precedents, forms, indices, finding lists, related government policies, and significant court decisions. It includes a detailed discussion of the Ontario Business Corporations Act, focusing on: - Incorporation - Corporate Finance - Directors and Officers - Shareholders - Financial Disclosure - Fundamental Changes - Liquidation and Dissolution - Remedies It also deals with special types of corporations, including extra-provincial corporations, corporations without share capital, insurance corporations, co-operatives and credit unions.

Contains "Canada Policy Documents and Directives" and "Canada Securities Regulatory Materials and Bulletins" databases. Further regulations may be found under "All Canadian Legislation"; agency decisions may be found under "All Canadian Cases and Board & Tribunal Decisions" in Westlaw.

Contains the full text of the Consolidated Regulations of Canada 1978, as updated by LexisNexis Canada since April 2003 with all new regulations, amendments, and repeals according to the most recent twice monthly issue of the Canada Gazette Part II. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Alberta, consolidated and updated by LexisNexis Canada with all new regulations, amendments, and repeals according to the most recent twice monthly issue of the Alberta Gazette. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

This source contains the full text of the Regulations of British Columbia, consolidated and updated by LexisNexis Canada with all new regulations, amendments, and repeals according to the most recent weekly issue of the British Columbia Bulletin. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Manitoba, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of Manitoba. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document. As of May 17, 2014, all content is taken from the official website of the government of Manitoba. Referenced in editor's tables and history lines, all content predating May 17, 2014 is taken from the Manitoba Gazette, Part 2.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of New Brunswick, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of New Brunswick. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Newfoundland & Labrador, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of Newfoundland & Labrador. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of The NorthWest Territories, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of the NorthWest Territories. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Nova Scotia, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of Nova Scotia. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Nunavut, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of Nunavut. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Ontario, consolidated and updated by LexisNexis Canada with all new regulations, amendments, and repeals according to the most recent weekly issue of the Ontario Gazette. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Prince Edward Island, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of Prince Edward Island. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Quebec, maintained by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of Quebec. Please note that the Quebec government has changed its English-language citation style from R.S.Q. to CQLR, effective December 1, 2012.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of Saskatchewan, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of Saskatchewan. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.

Contains the full text of the Regulations of The Yukon, updated regularly by LexisNexis Canada with data obtained from the Government of The Yukon. The exact currency of the consolidation can be determined by referring to the currency link on each document.