Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The U.S. Senate Historical Office provides an overview of the three types of committees, their subcommittees and the rules and procedures governing these committees.
Photo: Senate Foreign Relations Committee, U.S. Senate Historical Office
Senate Committee Information
House Committee Information
Committee Report Resources
Federal Legislative Bill History
Despite the name, this database does not include compiled legislative histories but does offer full text committee reports, presidential messages and some bill summaries. 2006 to present.
House and Senate Committee Reports from 1989 (101st Congress) to present with some coverage from 97th Congress.
Search for an individual bill and view "Actions" tab to see list of actions taken on the bill and links to documents generated during those steps in the legislative process. Can also run "Advanced Search" and filter by action including "Conference Report Agreed to in House and Senate"
1995 - present. Browse by Congressional session.
Committee Reports in Print in Law Library collection, 1817 - present
The U.S. Serial Set is available in print in the law library. If you have the House or Senate report number, use the GPO link in the record to find the Serial Set number for that report. If you do not have a report number, please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
Joint Committee Prints
1995 - current. Joint Committee Prints are publications issued by Committees consisting of members of both chambers that include topics related to their legislative or research activities and memorial tributes. The types of documents included in the Committee Prints are draft reports and bills, directories, statistical materials, investigative reports, historical reports, situational studies, confidential staff reports, hearings and legislative analyses.
Legislative History - United States Code
All congressional committee reports, including reports on bills that did not become law. From 1990 to present with some older documents from USCCAN
Official US House & Senate Committee Reports
Sort by House or Senate then search by keyword or browse by date range. Unfortunately there's no way to sort by Committee name or Congressional session.
Provides compiled histories, bills, committee hearings, congressional House & Senate reports, other committee publications and the Congressional Record. Records may not offer full-text for all statutes and not all documents are available for each statute.
U.S. Code Congressional & Administrative News: Legislative History Reports
"All congressional committee reports, including reports on bills that did not become law, beginning with 1990. Also sets out the legislative history of public laws as reprinted in U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN) from 1948 through 1989, as well as the legislative history of securities laws beginning with 1933." USCCAN Legislative histories 1933-1990 include select committee reports, not all reports.
U.S. Congressional Documents Online from Rutgers
This is a full-text archive of selected documents of the United States Congress from the collection of the Rutgers - Camden School of Law. Hearings and Committee Prints included in this online collection date from the 1970's to 1999. Additional hearings and documents harvested from the GPO websites from 2000 forward are also included as well
U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1994 (Readex)
Congressional reports and selected other documents are part of the U.S. Serial Set. Search by report number using "Publication Search." Other search options are also available. Villanova University login needed to access.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Collection available through HeinOnline. Is not complete but does cover 1995 - 2014 in addition to older materials.
Other Committee Materials
Committees of U.S. Congress
View lists of standing, joint and special committees; view video stream of House proceedings; House & Senate committee assignments along with meeting and hearing schedules
Congressional Committee Materials
View Committee Prints, Committee Documents, Joint publications, publications from each chamber and other materials. Coverage years varies by type of document.
CQ Congressional Press Releases
Press releases issued by Congressional committees, Congressional leadership and individual members of Congress.
Federal Committee Schedules
December 2010 to present. Search by type of committee, date, meeting title, bill number, bill sponsor/panel witness, or keyword.
House & Senate Committee Prints
Publications issued by House or Senate Committees that include topics related to their legislative or research activities and memorial tributes. Documents include: draft reports and bills, directories, statistical materials, investigative reports, historical reports, situational studies, confidential staff reports, hearings and legislative analyses. House: 1995 - present; Senate: 1997 - present. Open the "U.S. Congress" link to view links for both chambers, selecting your chamber of interest.
House & Senate Documents
1995 - present. House and Senate documents are informational documents which originate from House or Senate Committees and include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. Open the "U.S. Congress" link to view links for both chambers.