LibGuides: Family Law: Sexuality &amp; Gender Law Resources

General Legal News Sources

JURIST This link opens in a new window
Legal News articles updated daily. Most articles contain links to court filings and decisions.

BNA United States Law Week via your Bloomberg login
This weekly publication covers litigation throughout the country. Try searching here for articles on particular state or federal litigation.
Additional Legal News Sources
Additional Legal News Sources are on Westlaw, Lexis, and other Law Databases accessible from the Villanova Law Databases page.

Reports and Studies

Williams Institute Research
"The Williams Institute is dedicated to conducting rigorous, independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. A national think tank at UCLA Law, the Williams Institute produces high-quality research with real-world relevance and disseminates it to judges, legislators, policymakers, media and the public."
Reports and Research from National Gay and Lesbian Taskforce

Congressional Research Service Reports via U. of North Texas Library This link opens in a new window
Over 15,000 CRS reports on a variety of subjects. These reports are usually well-researched with loads of references.
Congressional Research Service Reports This link opens in a new window
This is an example of CRS Report related to Sexuality and U.S. federal law. This report discusses issues surrounding the proposed Employment Non-Discrimination Act, which would prohibit discrimination based on an individual's actual or perceived sexual orientation or gender identity by public and private employers in hiring, discharge, compensation, and other terms and conditions of employment. Search this site for other CRS reports.
Congressional Research Reports in the Internet Archive This link opens in a new window

Finding Law Review Articles

Want to see what has already been written on a particular topic? Want to read existing articles to get ideas for new or related topics? Have an idea for a unique topic and you want to do a pre-emption search? Or perhaps you want to find law review articles that discuss a particular statute or case? The following sources may be helpful:

Dukeminier Awards
Each year the Dukeminier Awards Journal recognizes the best law review articles on sexual orientation and gender identity.
Dukeminier Awards Journal website - Current and Past Issues
Dukeminier Awards journal article example from HeinOnline Denied the Finish Line: Sex Verification Testing for Intersex Athletes under the International Association of Athletics Federations [notes] Dukeminier Awards: Best Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Law Review, Vol. 9, Issue 1 (2010), pp. 389-424
Law and Gender Commons
Over 200 articles on subjects related to Law and Gender from the Digital Network Commons.
Sexuality and the Law Commons
Over 1,000 full-text articles on a wide range of topics related to Sexuality and the Law. Hosted by the Digital Commons Network.
SSRN Sexuality & the Law eJournal
Law professors often posted drafts of articles on SSRN. SSRN is a great source for articles that will be published in the next year or two (and that are not yet available on Lexis or Westlaw). Caution: check for the most recent version of an article. Drafts are not routinely removed from SSRN when the final published version is available.
SSRN Sexuality & Gender Studies eJournal
This multi-discipline journal features draft and final articles related to Sexuality & Gender Studies.

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Use Lexis to find law review articles by searching directly for articles or Shepardizing a case or statute.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Use Westlaw to find law review articles by searching directly for articles OR by KeyCiting a case or statute to find articles on that law.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Diverse collection of databases including extensive law journals library, current and historical federal materials, specialized collections and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Links to articles and abstracts of articles on HeinOnline, SelectedWorks and SSRN.

Circuit Splits

BloombergLaw U.S. Law Week
search within U.S. Law Week for "circuit split" OR "circuit splits"

US Law Week via BloombergLaw This link opens in a new window
In the first issue of each month, US Law Week lists cases under the heading CIRCUIT SPLITS. To access, search within U.S. Law Week for "circuit splits reported."

Seton Hall Circuit Review
Each issue has a CURRENT CIRCUIT SPLITS section with brief descriptions of cases.

Additional Resources

GLBTQ
an encyclopedia of GLT information with references to court cases. As of August 2015 the site "closed" and moved to this archive.
Advocate.com's Politics features
National Center for Lesbian Rights' Cases and Policy
Links to searchable database of NCLR cases and policies.
Lambda Legal's Cases
GenderWatch via Falvey Library
GenderWatch is a full-text database that provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women.
Browse the Table of Contents of a Casebook
This is a link to the table of contents of the textbook "Sex, Gender, Sexuality and the Law." Look for other books online or in the library and to browse other tables of contents.
OUTRIGHT Action International
OUTRIGHT Action International (formerly International Gay & Lesbian Human Rights Commission) works internationally to document and report on human rights violations of LGBTIQ people. Browse here for more information, particularly under Issues and Documentation.

Glossary of Terms - Transgender

This guide provides a glossary of terms to promote accurate and fair writing and reporting: GLAAD Media Reference Guide: Glossary of Terms - Transgender.