LibGuides: French Legal Resources: French Secondary Materials

Legal Treatises

European Tort Law (2nd edn)
See specifically the chapter on France under Part I Systems of Liability
Liability for Products: English Law, French Law, and European Harmonization
This comparative study considers the French and English laws governing all those who may be liable for products: their producers, their suppliers, their users, and their regulators. To do so, it examines in each system the private law of tort and contract and aspects of the civil process which are important in determining liability; the administrative law concerning failures to regulate or control product safety; and the liability for products of suppliers of public services, such as water or healthcare. The book considers how the substantive criminal offences affecting product safety, whether particular to products or under more general law, relate to civil liability or to compensation. The emerging picture reveals two complex and significantly different patterns of liability for products in the English and French systems, cutting across the traditional boundaries of private law, public law, and criminal law.
Product Liability (2020 Version)
Discussion of EU law surrounding products liability.
Comparative Succession Law: Volume III: Mandatory Family Protection
See particularly Chapter 22 (Mandatory Family Protection in the Civilian Tradition), Part VII: The Legal Position Prevailing Today
Remedies for Breach of Contract: A Comparative Analysis of the Protection of Performance
Compares English (common law) and French (civil law) approaches to different contract issues.

French News Sources

French Journals, Magazines, & Newsletters (mostly in English, some French language)
Covers a variety of topics including culture and society, finance and banking, government and politics and investments.
French News Databases
Links to many different news publication databases. Some sources are in English but most are in the French language. Does not include Le Monde but does include Le Progres which is the major newspaper for Lyon and the Rhone valley (French language only).
French News Wires (in English and French)
Variety of news outlets including GlobalNewswire, Agence France Presse, AP French and Actusnews
Tribune Desfosses
Tribune Desfosses is a financial newspaper covering news and events in Paris, France. Updated on weekdays

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Search by keyword, date or map. News coverage from around the world. List of all titles (over 12,000) included can be found here: https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/source-list?p=AWNB
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes marginalized and alternative newspapers, journals, and magazines. National and international coverage from 1991 to present. Search by keyword, publication title, subject or date. Full list of included publication titles can be found here: https://web.p.ebscohost.com/ehost/flatbrowse?vid=3&sid=e8d8a120-420d-4d6b-97da-3ba873c8efea%40redis

General Europe Journals, Magazines & Newsletters
Organized by topic/industry. Most in English though some in French and other languages.
Other European News Sources

Lexis Nexis Practical Guidance - Franch

Collection of Practice Notes detailing how to handle different types of transactions. Each item in this collection either involves a French company or applies French law/jurisdiction. Use the filters to narrow your results by practice area, jurisdiction (international) or industry. Some titles offer overviews and background information that may give a nice foundation about the structure of corporate transactions in France:

Doing Business in France
Lexis Practice Note that gives overview of the names and differences between different types of corporate structures/entities in France as well as specifics about business setup in France.
Lexis Practical Guidance - France
Use filters to narrow your search. Covers many different practice areas--everything from Art Law to M&As. Browse the full list to see all included areas of coverage.
Multilaw Global Guide: Data Protection Law (France)
This data protection law guide (France) is part of a global multijurisdictional guide. The guide gives an overview of the regulatory regime and key legal considerations for data privacy and data security in France.
Multilaw Global Business Entities Guide Resource Kit
This resource kit provides links to global guides addressing essential aspects of forming specific business entities in global jurisdictions. Leading law firms in the Multilaw global law firm network answer key questions on this topic. Organized by country
Multilaw Global Guide: FinTech (France)
This FinTech guide (France) is part of a global multijurisdictional guide. The guide gives a quick overview of the relevant legal and economic conditions under which FinTech services can be provided in the jurisdiction.
Corporate Governance in International Jurisdictions
Includes separate note for France. Styled as a question and answer guide walking through the basics of corporate governance structures and regulations in each nation.
Construction in International Jurisdictions
This practice note provides links to international guides addressing essential aspects of construction law and policy. Leading law firms in each of the international jurisdictions answer key questions on this topic. These questions and answers are compiled in Getting the Deal Through guides.

French Economy and Culture

Countries and Their Cultures - France
Examines the culture of France and its region with a discussion of customs, political life, social programs and other institutions that impact its citizenry.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies - France
Overview of the French economy, industries, and other related information.

Directories

Le Trombinoscope
Published for 25 years, Le Trombinoscope is a professional directory of the political world. Offers biographies of political actors.

Infolegale - Dirigeants This link opens in a new window
Contains professional profiles of French businesses namely (industries, financial services, services and consulting) specifying their Title, Name, Maiden Name, First Name, Position, Nomination information, as well as their professional details.
L'AGEFI - Biographies This link opens in a new window
The Biographies publication from L'AGEFI contains professional profiles and guides to over 12,000 leaders of French businesses namely (industries, financial services, services and consulting) specifying their age, their formation, their professional journey, as well as their professional details.
The Official Board Biographies This link opens in a new window
The Official Board maintains corporate organizational charts for medium and large-sized companies, as well as biographies of executives. International in scope.
Top Management Biographies This link opens in a new window
Top Management is a directory of biographies of the top managers, directors, and CEOs in France, Belgium and Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg.
Who's Who in France This link opens in a new window
Biographies of 20,000 of French men and women who contribute to building its future. All activities and industries included.

Bloomberg Resources - France

DLA Piper Data Protection Laws of the World, France
Offers definitions, EU and French laws/regulations regarding data privacy, security and breach requirements.
Export Guide, Country Profiles: France
Profile and contact information for French trade.
Foreign Income Portfolios: Business Operations in France
Good overview of the French legal system and business structure
International HR Primers, Europe_UK, France
Covers French regulations and laws regarding hiring, immigration, benefits, workplace safety and more.
International Joint Ventures: A Guide for US Lawyers -France
Reviews company forms and financing restrictions and options available in France/EU
International Patent Litigation: A Country-by-Country Analysis, FRANCE (BNA)
Definitions and filing procedures specific to France
International Privacy Profile - France
Data Privacy practice guide covering EU privacy protections and French law.
International Tax Profiles - France
Guide to the French tax system
Professional Perspective - French M&A Transactions in Sensitive Sectors
Practice guide delving into French M&A law.
Value-Added Tax (VAT) Navigator - France
Reviews French VAT system

Bloomberg Law Resources - International

Cross-Border Mergers and Acquisitions
Discusses M & A transactions involving companies located in different countries and strategies for reconciling conflicts and choice of law considerations.
Due Diligence for Global Deal Making: The Definitive Guide to Cross-Border Mergers and Acquisitions, Joint Ventures, Financings, and Strategic Alliances
European Union Regulation on Insolvency Proceedings: An Introductory Analysis
Bankruptcy law in the EU
Foreign Income Portfolios: Business Operations in the European Union
Review of the EU's structure, market, tax treatment and more.
GDPR Fast Answers
Question and Action format covering privacy law
International Corporate Finance: Value Creation with Currency Derivatives in Global Capital Markets
International Practitioners Deskbook Series: Joint Ventures in the International Arena
See specifically CHAPTER 9 International Joint Ventures-Europe with an Emphasis on France
International Trade Practice Center
Country profiles, build comparison charts of import and export controls for various nations, view checklists, news and more.
Secondary Sources-International
Organized by practice area. Includes country surveys, chart builders, practice deskbooks, GDPR resources and more.
International Labor and Employment Resources
Getting the Deal Through practice guides offer in-depth analysis

Westlaw Resources

Practical Law Global: France (English language)
Select practice area to view available practice notes, sample documents, checklists and more.
European Law Guide (treatise)
Covers many different practice areas from corporate law and securities to IP, tax, banking and others
Competition Law: European Community Practice and Procedure
Sweet and Maxwell treatise, The Global Competition and Antitrust (GCA) Competition Law: European Community Practice and Procedure (CLECPP)
European Securities Regulation
Must search by keyword--no browseable table of contents
European Union Practice Page
Links to EU cases, legislation, treaties and law journals.
Other EU Treatises
Multi-national Treatises
Many focusing on business, trade and IP. Both international and comparative law perspectives provided.
Droit compare de l'arbitrage international (French language)
Treatise on international arbitration from around the world.
Comparative Law of International Arbitration
Includes a Table of Cases and Arbitral Awards
Corporate Counsel's Guide to International Distribution & Licensing
"Gives you the basic legal rules surrounding international distribution in a number of jurisdictions, and provides sample forms from a wide spectrum of industries, including agriculture, biomedical research, computers, electronics, energy distribution, factory automation systems, financial services, Internet hosting services, medical equipment, pharmaceuticals, software development, sports wagering, telecommunications, television programming, and wireless communications. The sample forms are taken from companies' filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission and are publicly available on its EDGAR database. It also includes checklists, sample clauses, and forms"

PLI Plus Resources

Cross-Border Employment Law 2021
See Chapter 9: Workforce Restructuring and Adjustments in France and Chapter 15: Diversity and Inclusion in the Legal Workplace, France (March 2021) in particular
Health Care Mergers and Acquisitions Answer Book
See Chapter 42: Health Care M&A Transactions in France
Global Capital Markets & the US Securities Laws