LibGuides: Federal Tax Law Research: Introduction

Overview

This guide explains how to access federal tax research sources available to Villanova Law students. It makes reference to the specific location of printed materials in the Villanova Law Library as well as subscription databases accessible by password. Links to free sources of tax law information are also provided where available.

Major Databases & Websites

Here are some of the most important electronic sources for federal tax research:

Checkpoint
This research system contains the tax materials published by the Research Institute of America (RIA).

Checkpoint Registration
Users must use this link to register for Checkpoint access one semester at-a-time from a computer on campus.

Bloomberg Law
Provides dockets and case documents taken directly from PACER, numerous example contracts and other transactional materials as well as state and federal cases, regulations, and statutes. Also links to BNA Portfolios and BNA Law Reports for news and current awareness items.

Lexis Advance
This research system contains primary and secondary source materials concerning tax and many other areas of law.
Westlaw
This research system contains primary and secondary source materials concerning tax and many other areas of law.
Internal Revenue Service
The IRS Electronic Reading Room provides access to a variety of agency rulings and memoranda.
United States Tax Court

Basic Print Resources

Federal Tax Research: guide to materials and techniques (9th ed.) by Gail Levin Richmond
Call Number: Reserve & 2nd floor KF241 .T38 .R5 2014

Publication Date: 2014
Legal Authorities in U.S. Federal Tax Matters--research and interpretation, Tax Management Portfolio 100-3rd by Peter A. Lowy
Call Number: Reserve KF6280 .A1 .T32 v. 100 2014

Publication Date: 2014
West's Tax Law Dictionary by Smith & Smith
Call Number: Reference KF6287 .W473 2012

Publication Date: 2012
TaxCite: a federal tax citation and reference manual
Call Number: Reserve KF245 .T39 1995

Publication Date: 1995