LibGuides: FDLP Basic Collection: Home

FDLP Overview

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government's information. The FDLP is administered by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO).

Since 1813, select U.S. Government documents have been made available throughout the United States and its territories to designated libraries. These designated libraries are called Federal depository libraries. Villanova University Law Library is one such library.

As members of the FDLP, depository libraries play a prominent role in providing Federal Government information to the public. FDLP libraries collaborate on a local and national level to provide informed access to both historical and current Federal Government resources distributed through the FDLP and deposited in libraries across the country.

Anyone can visit Federal depository libraries and use the Federal depository collections which are filled with information on careers, business opportunities, consumer information, health and nutrition, legal and regulatory information, demographics, and numerous other subjects.

The authority for the FDLP and the legal obligations of designated Federal depository libraries are found in 44 United States Code §§1901‐1916.

FDsys

The Federal Digital System (FDsys) is a web resource published by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) that provides access to a number of items within the FDLP Basic Collection including the U.S. Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Court Opinions, the Federal Register, and more.

FDLP Basic Collection

The Federal Depository Library Program's Basic Collection consists of "vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government."

Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government This link opens in a new window
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. It is designed to teach how the U.S. government works and how to locate and use primary source materials.
Budget of the United States Government This link opens in a new window
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

The Budget is also available in print on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number PREX 2.8.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

The Catalog is also available in print through 2004 on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number GP 3.8.
Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

The CFR is also available in print on the Second Floor at call number KF70 .A3.
Compilation of Presidential Documents This link opens in a new window
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Congress.gov (US Congressional materials) This link opens in a new window
Links to bills, Public Laws, Committee activities, the Congressional Record and much more.
Congressional Directory This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It presents:

Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district.

Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.

Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.

The Congressional Directory is also available in print in the Reference Area at call number JK1083. U57.
Congressional Record This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.

The Congressional Record is also available in print on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number X1.1/A.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation This link opens in a new window
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation, popularly known as the Constitution Annotated, encompasses the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.

The current edition of this title can be found in the Reference Area at call number KF4527. A1, and previous editions can be found on the Second Floor at the same call number.
Economic Indicators This link opens in a new window
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

Economic Indicators is available in print on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number Y 4.EC 7:EC 7/.
Economic Report of the President This link opens in a new window
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

The Economic Report of the President is available in print on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area. They can be found at SuDocs number PR(President number).9:(Year). E.g., President Obama's 2010 Economic report would be found at PR 44.9:2010, because he is the 44th President, and it was published in 2010.
Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Explore Census Data provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in Explore Census Data come from several censuses and surveys.
The Federal Depository Library Program's Basic Collection consists of "vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government."
FDsys This link opens in a new window
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Federal Domestic Assistance Listings This link opens in a new window
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.

The CFDA is also available in print in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number PREX 2.20.
Govinfo.gov This link opens in a new window
Access to many different collections of federal materials. See A-Z databases list to select proper database. Most offer PDF links to view print facsimiles. Use the Search button to get to Citation search for easy access.
Historical Statistics of the United States - Colonial Times to 1970 - Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States provides a wide range of statistical data quantifying various aspects of the development of the nation.

This title is available in print on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number C 3.134/2:H 62/789-970/.
Historical Statistics of the United States - Colonial Times to 1970 - Part 2 This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States provides a wide range of statistical data quantifying various aspects of the development of the nation.

This title is available in print on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number C 3.134/2:H 62/789-970/.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.

The OOH is available in print on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number L 2.70/4:.

Population and Housing Unit Counts
The PHC-3, Population and Housing Unit Counts, report series provides Census 2000 and historical comparisons of the 100-percent population and housing unit counts. It provides land and water area measurements, and population density. The user notes section documents geographic changes over the past decade.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Public Papers of the Presidents (PPP) is an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature are made available.

The PPP (dating from President Hoover through present) is available on the Lower Level in the Government Documents area at SuDocs number GS 4.113:.

Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics: Island Areas
The PHC-4 contains information similar to that found in the PHC-2 for American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and the Virgin Islands.

Social Security Handbook This link opens in a new window
The Social Security Handbook includes the provisions of the Social Security Act (the Act), regulations issued under the Act, and precedential case decisions (rulings). It is one of numerous publications about the Social Security programs. It is a readable, easy to understand resource for the very complex Social Security programs and services.

Summary Population and Housing Characteristics
The PHC-1, "Summary Population and Housing Characteristics," report series provides data based on the 100-percent questions. The subjects are age, Hispanic or Latino origin, household relationship, race, sex, tenure (owner- or renter-occupied), and vacancy characteristics. Land area measurements and population density also are provided.

United States Code This link opens in a new window
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.

The U.S. Code is also available in print on the Second Floor at call number KF62. A2.
USA Counties: 2011 This link opens in a new window
USA Counties features over 6,600 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources. Files include data published for 2010 population as well as many other items from the 2010 Census of Population and Housing, the 1990 census, the 1980 census and the 2007, 2002, 1997, and 1992 economic censuses. NOTE: this database is no longer being updated. Utilize the organization links found in this source file: http://www2.census.gov/prod2/statcomp/usac/excel/Source.xls
United States Government Manual This link opens in a new window
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. Online access back to 1935 edition.
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
Official U.S. government information portal
United States Statutes at Large This link opens in a new window
The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.

The Statutes at Large is also available in print on the Second Floor at call number KF50. U5.

United States Reports
The United States Reports contain the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.

The U.S. Reports are available in print on the Second Floor at call number KF101. A3.
United States Summary: 2000
The PHC-2, "Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics," report series provides sample data on a wide range of characteristics. Population characteristics data include disability status; earnings in 1999; educational attainment; employment status; full-time, year-round workers in 1999; income in 1999; journey to work; language spoken at home and ability to speak English; nativity; place of birth; poverty status in 1999; residence in 1995; school enrollment and type of school; veteran status; and work status in 1999. Housing characteristics data include bedrooms; gross rent; house heating fuel; kitchen facilities; mortgage status; occupancy; owner costs; plumbing facilities; rental cost; rooms; telephone service available; tenure; units in structure; value of home; vehicles available; year moved into unit; and year structure built.