LibGuides: Advanced Intellectual Property and Cyberlaw: Researching a Topic

Treatises

Below are some well-known IP and Cyberlaw legal treatises. Search the law library catalog or consult with a Reference Librarian for other suggestions.

Chisum on Patents : a Treatise on the Law of Patentability, Validity and Infringement on Lexis

McCarthy on Trademark and Unfair Competition on Westlaw

Nimmer on Copyright: a Treatise on the Law of Literary, Musical and Artistic Property, and the Protection of Ideas available on Lexis

Milgrim on Trade Secrets available on Lexis

Law of Computer Technology on Westlaw

Computer Law: A Guide to Cyberlaw & Data Privacy Law on Lexis

Law of the Internet by Delta & Matsuura on Westlaw

Law of the Internet by Steele, et. al. on Lexis

US Agencies and Congress

Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new window

Copyright Office
Library of Congress: Bill and Law Info
Federal Government Documents from GPO
Federal Register -- Daily Journal of Fed Agencies
regulations.gov -- includes Comments TO agencies on proposed regulations
Some, but not all, federal agencies accept comments on proposed regulations thru regulations.gov. See agency's Federal Register announcement of proposed rule for submission information.

Books

Villanova Law Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the law library catalog for books and some electronic materials. Try a keyword search, browse for a title of interest and then expand your search by clicking on a Subject link. Use the combined search to search across Falvey library's collections too.
Books available in the main campus library This link opens in a new window
Books available worldwide This link opens in a new window
If you find a book that you would like that is not in the Villanova Law or main campus libraries, you may request it through the Law Library Inter-Library Loan Service.

Interlibrary Loan Services at Villanova Law Library

Finding Law Review Articles

To find law reivew articles on a topic, consider using these sources:

Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Use Lexis Advance to find law review articles by searching directly for articles OR by Shepardizing a case or statute to find articles on that law.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Use Westlaw to find law review articles by searching directly for articles OR by KeyCiting a case or statute to find articles on that law.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Diverse collection of databases including extensive law journals library, current and historical federal materials, specialized collections and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Links to articles and abstracts of articles on HeinOnline, SelectedWorks and SSRN.

Intellectual Property Law Commons

IDEA

IDEA: The Intellectual Property Law Review's mission is "to be recognized worldwide as the premier intellectual property publication providing practical articles which address new, controversial, and potential developments in intellectual property and related fields." IDEA's home is the University of New Hampshire School of Law. The following links are from there:

IDEA: The Intellectual Property Law Review
Browse article titles in the current issue or past issues. Links to the full-text are provided.
IP Mall
The IP Mall offers unique IP content reviewed and maintained by the University of New Hampshire School of Law Library. It is a fine collection of IP resources that are not typically available in commercial databases. Search the site OR browse under these topics: Copyright, Patent, Trademarks, or General IP
CRS Reports on IP, Cyberlaw & Electronic Commerce
Congressional Research Services Reports are prepared for members of Congress. Some of these reports are available on the web and the IP Mall has collected those on intellectual property, cyberlaw and electronic commerce. These reports are usually well-researched, balanced, and well written.

Federal Court Dockets

Bloomberg Law login screen

View federal pleadings under DOCKETS in Bloomberg Law.

Interdisciplinary Sources

Subject Guide

Amy Spare

she/her

Email Me