Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United States Supreme Court: Resources for Writers

Resources for Writers and Writing Projects

The following resources are intended to help law students in seminars and other law classes find topics for writing projects regarding the Supreme Court, and to aid them in the actual process of writing.  For additional assistance, consult with the professor of the courses in question, or with any of the Villanova Law Library Reference Librarians.

Study Resources for Writers

Creating an Annotated Bibliography of Sources

Tips on Creating an Annotated Bibliography

1. Understand what it is.

An annotated bibliography is a list of the sources you plan to use for your paper. Each source is listed with a brief description of the source AND how it relates to your paper topic.

 

2. As you research, create your list of sources.

As you find books, articles, statutes and cases related to your paper topic, put information about each source in your DRAFT Annotated Bibliography document. For each source include the title, author, citation, date and any other information needed (e.g. a book chapter title or page range or pincites).

 

3. After reading a source, write an annotation for that source.

As you read each of your sources, write a brief summary of how you will use it in your research paper. Make note of the useful parts of the source, how each part relates to your topic, and where that information fits within the outline of your paper.

See Purdue Online Writing Lab on Annotated Bibliographies  OR University of Newcastle Library Guide on Annotated Bibliographies  

Writing Ethics and Other Writing Resources

Research Management Systems

Citation management software allows you to track your sources as you use them rather than waiting until the end of a project to retype a separate bibliography or Table of Authorities. This software also auto formats your citations in Bluebook format. (You still need to REVIEW and EDIT the citations.It's not perfect but it can save time.) For more information, check out this guide:

Supreme Court Reviews and Journals

Supreme Court Economic Review

University of Chicago.  Faculty-edited, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary series; applies economic and legal scholarship to the work of the United States Supreme Court.

Supreme Court Preview

College of William and Mary School of Law, The Institute of Bill of Rights Law.

Supreme Court Review

University of Chicago.  A survey of the implications of the Court's most significant decisions; an annual critique of the Supreme Court and its work; keeping up on the forefront of the origins, reforms, and interpretations of American law.

Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases

American Bar Association.  Provides, in advance of oral argument, expert, plain-language analysis of all cases given plenary review by the Supreme Court.