Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Trafficking: Secondary Sources

Legal Encyclopedia

Legal encyclopedia can provide a brief overview of an area of law, introducing the reader to relevant legal topics and terms.

Selected Legal Encyclopedia:

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (Third Floor: KZ1160 .E5 1981)

Cornell’s Legal Information Institute’s WEX legal dictionary and encyclopedia is accessible online for free.

American Jurisprudence 2d (Second Floor: KF154 .A42)

Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia (Third Floor: KFP65 .P4 1998)

Selected Treatises

Law Journals and Articles

Anti-Trafficking Review

Laurel Bellows, Breaking the Shackles More Must Be Done to End Human Trafficking and Address the Needs of Its Victims, 98 SEP ABA J. 8 (Sept. 2012)

Mohamed Y. Mattar, Interpreting Judicial Interpretations of the Criminal Statutes of the Trafficking Victims Protection Act: Ten Years Later, 19 Am. U. J. Gender Soc. Pol'y & L. 1247 (2011)

Eileen Overbaugh, Human Trafficking: The Need for Federal Prosecution of Accused Traffickers, 39 Seton Hall L. Rev. 635 (2009)

Stephanie Richard, Note, State Legislation and Human Trafficking: Helpful or Harmful?, 38 U. Mich. J.L. Reform 447 (2005)

Arthur Rizer & Sheri R. Glaser, Breach: The National Security Implications of Human Trafficking, 17 Widener L. Rev. 69 (2011)

Jennifer A.L. Sheldon-Sherman, The Missing "P": Prosecution, Prevention, Protection, and Partnership in the Trafficking Victims Protection Act, 117 Penn St. L. Rev. 443 (2012)

Jayashri Srikantiah, Perfect Victims and Real Survivors: The Iconic Victim in Domestic Human Trafficking Law, 87 B.U. L. Rev. 157 (2007)

Martina E. Vandenberg, The International Law of Human Trafficking, 106 Am. J. Int'l L. 721 (2012)

Henry Andrés Yoder, Civil Rights for Victims of Human Trafficking, 12 U. Pa. J.L. & Soc. Change 133 (2009)

 

Reports on Human Trafficking

Many state, national, and international organizations periodically assemble thorough, heavily researched reports on the scope of human trafficking and the world’s response.  These reports often include extensive data on human trafficking and legislative analysis.

The Pennsylvania General Assembly’s Joint State Government Commission published the report, Human Trafficking in Pennsylvania:  Policy Recommendations and Proposed Legislation in June 2012.  It concluded, “Pennsylvania is a source, destination and pass-through state for trafficking in persons,” and recommended amendments to Pennsylvania’s criminal statutes to better address trafficking.

The Department of State’s annual Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report provides a global assessment of the scope of human trafficking.  The report places countries in one of three categories based on their response to human trafficking.  The Department of State explains, the “U.S. Government uses the TIP Report to engage foreign governments in dialogues to advance anti-trafficking reforms and to combat trafficking and to target resources on prevention, protection and prosecution programs,” and claims the TIP Report is the “world’s most comprehensive resource of governmental anti-human trafficking efforts.”

At a Crossroads:  Human Rights in Iraq Eight Years after the US-Led Invasion.  This 2011 Human Rights Watch report assess the prevalence of human rights abuses in Iraq.

USAID’s April 2013 Counter-Trafficking in Persons Field Guide (C-TIP Policy) is a practice guide for U.S. government actors seeking to combat human trafficking.

International Organization for Migration’s 2003 publication Is Trafficking in Human Beings Demand Driven?: A Multi-Country Pilot Study contains extensive research on the demand side of human trafficking in Europe and Asia. The report suggests the vacuum of effective regulation allows the human trafficking market to flourish.

Race to the Bottom:  Exploitation of Migrant Workers Ahead of Russia’s 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Sochi.  This 2013 Human Rights Watch report examines the labor conditions of workers constructing Russia’s Olympic facilities.

UNODC's Assessment Guide to the Criminal Justice Response to the Smuggling of Migrants