Foreign, Comparative & International Law: Scholarly Materials

Legal Dictionaries:  Use legal dictionaries to define unfamiliar legal terms.

Legal Encyclopedia:  Encyclopedia entries dealing with international law can provide a concise introduction to the subject, along with citations to primary and secondary sources of law that illustrate the discussion of various issues.  Some suggested works appear below:

Restatements of the Law:  Compiled by the American Law Institute, these authoritative secondary sources feature concise statements of legal rules, commentary, hypothetical situations illustrating the application of the rules, and citation to cases.  Also available on Westlaw:

RESTATEMENT OF THE LAW, THE FOREIGN RELATIONS LAW OF THE UNITED STATES (KF4651 .F68 1992a)

American Law Reports International:  This resource features annotations (articles) on various issues of international law.  Annotations in other series of American Law Reports, available in print form in the Library (check the Library’s OPAC), and online on Westlaw and Lexis+, may be of value to the international law researcher.  Use the Index volumes in print or search annotations online.

Law Reviews and Journals:  Research law reviews and journals dealing with international and foreign law matters using legal periodical indexes and databases:

Heinonline:  International & Non-U.S. Law Journals

In addition to law journals, Heinonline contains several libraries of interest to international law researchers:

                        English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)

                        European Center for Minority Issues.

Foreign & International Law Resources Database

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)

                        Treaties and Agreements Library

                        United Nations Law Collection

                        U.S. Presidential Library

                        U.S. Statutes at Large

                        U.S. Supreme Court Library

                        World Constitutions Illustrated

                        World Trials Library

Lexis+:  Law Reviews & Journals

WestLaw:  Law Reviews & Journals on International Law

Check the Library’s OPAC for print journals on International Law.

American Bar Association:  Section of International Law

Treatises:  To find treatises on international law and related topics, use the Law Library’s (or another library’s) online public access catalog (OPAC), or use the WORLDCAT database available to Villanova students through Falvey Library, the main campus library (see the “Databases A-Z” link on the Falvey Library website).  Some suggested material is listed below: