Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Federal Employers' Liability Act: Legal Research Databases

Legal Research Databases

Legal Research Databases:  Students and practitioners who have password access to the popular commercial legal research databases Lexis Advance, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law may use these resources for research regarding the FELA. 

 

With whatever database is being used, remember to examine the source description information each database usually provides to learn what a particular electronic resource contains, and tips on how to efficiently access that information.  In any of these popular commercial systems, searches for material on state and federal case law, tort law, personal injury matters, and labor and employment law can prove fruitful to the FELA researcher.  Some selected sources for FELA research within the individual databases are suggested here.

 

Lexis Advance

Some suggested sources for FELA research in Lexis Advance are:

 

Federal Litigation Guide

 

Moore’s Federal Practice—Civil

 

Personal Injury:  Actions, Defenses, Damages

 

Westlaw

Some suggested sources for FELA research in Westlaw are:

 

            U.S. Supreme Court Cases

 

            Labor & Employment Cases

 

            Litigating Tort Cases

 

Bloomberg Law

Some suggested resources for FELA research in Bloomberg Law include:

Occupational Safety & Health Reporter

Labor & Employment Analysis/News & Background

Workplace Law Report

 

Other resources include:

 

Books & Treatises:

Bloomberg BNA:

The Railway Labor Act