Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BOOKS: in law library, on campus, and through ILL
Villanova Law Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the law library catalog for books and some electronic materials. Try a keyword search, browse for a title of interest and then expand your search by clicking on a Subject link. Use the combined search to search across Falvey library's collections too.
Book Request (Book Concierge) Form
Request a book or other print materials from the law library collection. Books will be checked out to you and be available for pickup in the Book Pickup area to the right of the Circulation Desk.
Falvey's Book Pickup System
Falvey library allows you to place a hold on a book or other hard copy material. That material will be pulled and checked out to you and then you may pick it up from the hold shelf at Falvey library. See link for details
Books available worldwide This link opens in a new window
If you find a book that you would like that is not in the Villanova Law or main campus libraries, you may request it through the Law Library Inter-Library Loan Service.
Inter-library Loan Request Form
If you are unable to locate an item in the library catalog (search.law.villnaov.edu), in Falvey's library catalog or on Lexis or Westlaw, please complete this form and we will try to obtain the material from another library.
The Legal Theory of Ethical Positivism by
Call Number: K331 .C36 1996 (Reserves for course use)
Publication Date: 1996-03-28
The Legal Theory of Ethical Positivism re-establishes some of the dogmas of classical legal positivism regarding the separation of legizlation and adjudication and the feasibility of institutionalizing the morally neutral application of rules as an ideal capable of significant realization. This is supplemented by an analysis of the formal similarities of the morally and legally adjudicative points of view which offers the prospects of attributing a degree of moral authority to positivistic rule application in particular cases. These theories are worked through in their application to specific problem areas, particularly freedom of communication.
Legal Positivism in American Jurisprudence by
Call Number: K331 .S43 1998 (Reserves for course use)
Publication Date: 1998-10-28
This book represents a serious and philosophically sophisticated guide to modern American legal theory, demonstrating that legal positivism has been a misunderstood and underappreciated perspective through most of twentieth-century American legal thought. Anthony Sebok traces the roots of positivism through the first half of the twentieth century, and rejects the view that one must adopt some version of natural law theory in order to recognize moral principles in the law. On the contrary, once one corrects for the mistakes of formalism and postwar legal process, one is left with a theory of legal positivism that takes moral principles seriously while avoiding the pitfalls of natural law. The broad scope of this book ensures that it will be read by philosophers of law, historians of law, historians of American intellectual life, and those in political science concerned with public law and administration.
Legality and Legitimacy by
This book investigates one of the oldest questions of legal philosophy---the relationship between law and legitimacy. It analyses the legal theories of three eminent public lawyers of the Weimar era, Carl Schmitt, Hans Kelsen, and Hermann Heller. Their theories addressed the problems of legaland political order in a crisis-ridden modern society and so they remain highly relevant to contemporary debates about legal order in the age of pluralism.Schmitt, the philosopher of German fascism, has recently received much attention. Kelsen is well-known as one of the main exponents of the philosophy of legal positivism. Heller is virtually unknown outside Germany.Dyzenhaus exposes the dangers of Schmitt's legal philosophy by situating it in the legal context of constitutional crisis to which he responded. He also points out the severs inadequacies of Kelsen's legal positivism. In a wide-ranging account of the predicaments of contemporary legal and politicalphilosophy, Heller's position is argued to be the most promising of the three.
Call Number: Part of Oxford Academic collection, search for author: Dyzenhaus
Publication Date: 1999-11-18
Expand Your Research
Oxford Scholarship Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Allows searching by full text, title, author, subjects, publication dates, and more. The growing collection includes more than 16,000 OUP titles in 20 subject areas published between 1963 and the present. provided by Villanova's Falvey Library.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Diverse collection of databases including extensive law journals library, current and historical federal materials, specialized collections and more.
Lexis Law Reviews and Journals This link opens in a new window
Use Lexis Advance to find law review articles by searching directly for articles OR by Shepardizing a case or statute to find articles on that law.
Westlaw's Law Reviews & Journals This link opens in a new window
Use Westlaw to find law review articles by searching directly for articles OR by checking Citing References for a case or statute to find articles on that law.